Zack Snyder Shot Deathstroke's DCEU Introduction in Justice League

deathstroke justice league

After some confusion, actor Joe Manganiello has confirmed that director Zack Snyder filmed his Justice League post-credits scene that introduced Deathstroke to the DC Extended Universe.

With Snyder and Joss Whedon sharing credit for Justice League, the lines have become blurred between which director was responsible for which parts of the divisive ensemble film. With Whedon's comedic tone clashing with Snyder's typically somber approach, the final product was somewhat less than harmonious. So, who can really take credit for Deathstroke?

RELATED: No, Really – What’s Going on With the DCEU?

When DC Films Hub tweeted that Snyder may have confirmed through his Vero account that he shot the Deathstroke scene, Manganiello couldn't help but reply. Responding with "He did," the man behind the mask of Slade Wilson revealed it was indeed Snyder's doing. He subsequently reposted the photo.

My meeting with Lex...

?: @ZackSnyder pic.twitter.com/lneokh15C4

— Joe Manganiello (@JoeManganiello) April 24, 2018

Although the scene seemingly teed up a Justice League sequel, or perhaps an Injustice League spinoff, with Jesse Eisenberg's Lex Luthor suggesting, “To put it plainly, shouldn’t we have a league of our own?," Manganiello was originally intended to reprise his role as Deathstroke in Ben Affleck's The Batman. When Affleck stepped aside as director and co-writer, Manganiello's involvement was cast in doubt as Matt Reeves took the reins. Luckily, however, there are now plans for a Deathstroke solo movie, with Manganiello in the starring role.

RELATED: Joe Manganiello Assures There Are "Things in the Works" For Deathstroke Film

Justice League is available digitally and on Blu-ray and DVD. The film stars Ben Affleck as Batman, Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman, Henry Cavill as Superman, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, Jason Momoa as Aquaman, Ezra Miller as The Flash, Ray Fisher as Cyborg, Jeremy Irons as Alfred Pennyworth, Diane Lane as Martha Kent, Ciarán Hinds as Steppenwolf, Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor and J.K. Simmons as Commissioner Gordon.

Birds of Prey Cast
Birds of Prey: Harley Quinn Gathers Her Crew in First TV Spot

More in Movies