pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Winners of the 2009 Joe Shuster Awards

by  in Comic News Comment
Winners of the 2009 Joe Shuster Awards

The fifth annual Joe Shuster Comic Book Creator Awards were presented last night at the University of Toronto as part of the Word on the Street National Book & Magazine Festival.

Named in honor of the co-creator of Superman, the awards recognize achievement in comics by Canadians.

The winners of the 2009 awards are:

Artist: David Finch — Ultimatum #1-2 (Marvel Comics)
Cartoonist: Dave Sim — Glamourpuss #1-4, Judenhaas (Aardvark-Vanaheim)
Colorist: François Lapierre — “Gédéon et la bête du lac,” Contes et légendes du Québec (Glénat Québec), Magasin général 4 (Casterman)
Writer: Mariko Tamaki — Emiko Superstar (DC/Minx), Skim (Groundwood Books)
Cover: Niko Henrichon — Hostile Tome 1 (Dupuis)
Webcomics: Cameron Stewart — Sin Titulo
Publisher: Les 400 Coups/Mécanique Générale
Comics for Kids: Kean Soo — Jellaby, Book 1 (Hyperion)
Gene Day Award for Canadian Self-Publishers: Jesse Jacobs — Blue Winter, Shapes in the Snow
The Harry Kremer Award for Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Retailer: Legends Comics and Books (Victoria, British Columbia)
Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame: George Menendez Rae, Réal Godbout, Ken Steacy and Diana Schutz

Congratulations to all of the winners. The complete list of nominees can be found here.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos