pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Winners announced for seventh annual Joe Shuster Awards

by  in Comic News Comment
Winners announced for seventh annual Joe Shuster Awards

The winners of the seventh annual Joe Shuster Canadian Comic Book Creators Awards were announced last night in conjunction with the Calgary Comic & Entertainment Expo. The awards are named in honor of Toronto-born artist Joe Shuster, co-creator Superman. The full list of nominees can be found here. The winners are:

Outstanding comic book artist: Francis Manapul – Adventure Comics #6, The Flash #1-6, Superman/Batman #75 (DC Comics)

Outstanding comic book cartoonist: Tin Can Forest (aka Pat Shewchuk and Marek Colek) – Baba Yaga and the Wolf (Koyama Press)

Outstanding comic book colorist: Julie Rocheleau – La fille invisible (Glénat Québec)

Outstanding comic book cover artist: Fiona Staples – Mystery Society #1-5 (IDW), DV8: Gods and Monsters #1-8 (DC/Wildstorm), Superman/Batman #79 (DC Comics), Acts of Violence: An Anthology of Crime Comics (New Reliable Press), Magus #1 (12 Gauge Comics)

Outstanding comic book publisher: Koyama Press

Outstanding webcomics creator: Emily Carroll – His Face All Red, Dream Journals, The Death of José Arcadio, Out the Door, The Hare’s Bride

Outstanding comic book writer: Émilie Villeneuve – La fille invisible (Glénat Québec)

Comics for kids: Three Thieves Book 1: Tower of Treasure, by Scott Chantler (Kids Can Press)

The Gene Day Award for Self-Publishers: John MartzHeaven All Day

The Harry Kremer Award for Outstanding Comic Book Retailer: Planete BD (Montreal, QC)

Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame: Chester Brown (1960-) and Todd McFarlane (1961-)

Judges’ comments can be found here.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos