Winners announced for ninth annual Joe Shuster Awards

The winners of the ninth annual Joe Shuster Awards were announced Saturday in Toronto during a ceremony held in conjunction with Fan Expo Canada. The awards are named in honor of Toronto-born artist Joe Shuster, co-creator Superman. The full list of nominees can be found here. The winners are:

ArtistIsabelle Arsenault: Jane, le renard & moi (La Pastèque)/Jane, The Fox and Me (Groundwood Books)

CartoonistJeff Lemire: Sweet Tooth #29-40 (DC Comics), The Underwater Welder (Top Shelf)

Cover artistMike Del Mundo: A+X #2B, Amazing Spider-Man #678-679, 683B, Incredible Hulk #4B, Ka by Cirque de Soleil #1, Marvel Zombies Destroy! #1-5, Max Payne 3 #3, New Avengers #24B, Scarlet Spider #1B, 4B, Uncanny X-Men #17, Untold Tales of Punisher Max #5, Venom #16-17, 20, 22B, Wolverine #314-317, X-Men Legacy #1-2 (Marvel)

WriterFanny Britt: Jane, le renard & moi (La Pastèque)/Jane, The Fox and Me (Groundwood Books)

Webcomics creatorMichael DeForge: Ant Comic

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids)Cat’s Cradle Volume 1: The Golden Twine (Kids Can Press): Jo Rioux

Gene Day Award (Self-Publishers)Cory McCallum, Matthew Daley: The Pig Sleep: A Mr. Monitor Case

Harry Kremer Award (Retailers)Heroes in London, Ontario

Canadian Comic Book Creators Hall of FameVernon Miller (1912-1974)Murray Karn (1924-)Arn Saba (Katherine Collins) (1947-)

Levitz & Kim's The Visitor Drops a Sci-Fi Mystery Into the Valiant Universe

More in Comics