Winners announced for 2011 Shel Dorf Awards

The second annual Shel Dorf Awards were presented Saturday as part of Detroit Fanfare. Named in honor of the late Shel Dorf, a Detroit native and the founder of Comic-Con, the fan awards "are dedicated to recognizing the comic industries best and brightest talents."

The winners of the 2011 awards are:

Writer of the year: Robert KirkmanArtist of the year: Guy DavisInker of the year: Klaus JansonColorist of the year: Jeff BalkeEditor of the year: Shannon Eric DentonCover artist of the year: Mike MignolaLetterer of the year: Tom OrzcechowskiMiniseries of the year: Mouse Guard: Legends of the GuardGraphic novel of the year: Superman: Earth OneWebcomic of the year: Axe CopSyndicated print strip of the year: ZitsComic to multimedia adaptation of the year: The Walking DeadComic blogger of the year: Heidi MacDonald, The BeatContinuing series of the year: Usagi YojimboSelf-published comic of the year: EchoKids' comic of the year: Mouse Guard: Legends of the GuardJerry Bails Award: Randy Scott

"Astronaut Academy" Graphic Novel Series Sets Course for TV and Film

More in Comics