Winners announced for 2010 Ignatz Awards

The winners of the 14th annual Ignatz Awards were announced Saturday during the Small Press Expo in Bethesda, Maryland.

Named for the character in George Herriman's classic comic strip Krazy Kat, the Ignatz Awards are a festival prize recognizing outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. SPX attendees vote on nominees selected by a panel of five cartoonists (this year the jury members were Anders Nilsen, David Kelly, Rob G, Joshua Cotter and Trevor Alixopulos).

The winners of the 2010 Ignatz Awards are:

Outstanding ArtistEddie Campbell, Alec: The Years Have Pants (A Life-Sized Omnibus) (Top Shelf Productions)

Outstanding Anthology or CollectionMasterpiece Comics, R. Sikoryak (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Graphic NovelMarket Day, James Sturm (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding StoryMonsters, Ken Dahl (Secret Acres)

Promising New TalentMatt Wiegle, "The Orphan Baiter," Papercutter #13 (Tugboat Press)

Outstanding SeriesGanges, Kevin Huizenga (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding ComicI Want You, Lisa Hanawalt (Buenaventura Press)

Outstanding Mini-ComicRambo 3.5, Jim Rugg

Outstanding Online ComicTroop 142, Mike Dawson

Suicide Squad #50

More in Comics