Willem and Akira Toriyama win top Angoulême honors

Dutch cartoonist Willem was presented with the Grand Prix award over the weekend in France at the 40th annual Angoulême International Comics Festival, honoring his lifetime achievement. In addition, Dragon Ball and Dr. Slump creator Akira Toriyama was awarded a special Grand Prix recognizing his 40-year career.

As the recipient of the Grand Prix, Willem will serve as president of next year's festival.

The other major prize winners, courtesy of The Comics Reporter, were:

Prix du meilleur albumQuai d’Orsay Volume Two: Chroniques diplomatiques, Christophe Blain and Abel Lanzac (Dargaud)

Prix spécial du juryLe Nao de Brown, Glyn Dillon (Akileos)

Prix de la SérieAama, Vol. 2, Frederik Peeters (Gallimard)

Prix RévélationAutomne, Jon McNaught (Nobrow)

Prix PatrimoineKrazy Kat (1925-1929), George Herriman (Les reveurs)

Fauve Polar SNCFCastilla Drive, Anthony Pastor (Actes Sud/L’an 2)

Bruce Wayne Goes Full Sherlock Holmes in The Batman's Grave

More in Comics