Report: WB Considered Removing Snyder From Justice League After BvS

In the wake of the disappointing critical and commercial response to Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, Warner Bros. reportedly considered removing Zack Snyder as director of Justice League.

RELATED: Justice League Crosses $300 Million At International Box Office

That's according to a new story from TheWrap detailing purported behind-the-scenes missteps that transformed the latest installment of the DC Extended Universe into what one source called a "Frankenstein" creation.

Citing an "individual with deep knowledge of Warner Bros.," the website contends that following the release of Batman v Superman, several studio executives repeatedly suggested to Greg Silverman, then president of creative development and worldwide production, that Snyder be removed from Justice League. (Silverman stepped down in December 2016, and was replaced by Toby Emmerich.) Veteran producer Jon Berg, who oversees DC Films alongside DC Entertainment's Geoff Johns, apparently was sent to the movie's set for nearly a year to keep an eye on production costs.

However, the source insists removing a director that far into development would have been costly, and would have signaled that there was a serious problem with a high-profile film. “Warners is a studio that almost to a fault always wants to project strength," the insider told TheWrap.

RELATED: Petition For Zack Snyder's Cut of Justice League Gets Over 100,000 Signatures

Joss Whedon was ultimately brought on board, "with Snyder's blessing," to write additional scenes to inject some levity into Justice League. When Snyder stepped down as director in May following his daughter's suicide, Whedon was tapped to oversee reshoots. The site contends Whedon had to choose between continuing Snyder's vision or lightening the tone of the film. Whatever he decided, he had to do it by Justice League's firm Nov. 17 release date.

In theaters now, Justice League stars Ben Affleck as Batman, Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman, Henry Cavill as Superman, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, Jason Momoa as Aquaman, Ezra Miller as The Flash, Ray Fisher as Cyborg, Jeremy Irons as Alfred Pennyworth, Diane Lane as Martha Kent, Ciarán Hinds as Steppenwolf, Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor and J.K. Simmons as Commissioner Gordon.

Tessa Thompson in Thor: Ragnarok
Thor 4: Tessa Thompson Valkyrie Confirmed as MCU's First LGBTQ Hero

More in Movies