Kirby & Kane's Unpublished The Prisoner Comics to Be Released

Jack Kirby and Gil Kane’s elusive 1970s comic series The Prisoner is set to finally get a release. The series, which was never officially released to the public, was an attempt by Kirby and Kane to adapt the 1967 British espionage television series of the same name for Marvel.

Titan Comics will release a hardcover compilation of the unreleased comic series, dubbed The Prisoner: Original Art Edition, to be released this July. The book will contain an issue adapting the television series’ pilot, as well as 18 pages of Kane’s penciling work and an episode script penned by Steve Englehart.

The Prisoner television series ran for 17 episodes from 1967 to 1968 and followed an unnamed former British secret service agent who was abducted and rendered a prisoner on a remote island. A sequel comic series, The Prisoner: Shattered Visage, was created by Dean Motter and Mark Askwith, its initial four-issue run going from 1988 to 1989.

Titan Comics will revive the 51-year-old series again this year with a new comic from Peter Milligan and Colin Lorimer. The series will focus on the successor to Number 6, the unnamed protagonist’s codename on the island, and is set to be released this year.

(via The Hollywood Reporter)

DC Comics' Complete April 2019 Solicitations

More in Comics