The Flash Lands New Showrunner for Season 6

The Arrowverse continues to endure a series of sweeping changes, with the announcement of a new showrunner for The Flash’s upcoming Season 6.

The Hollywood Reporter has revealed that Todd Helbing will be stepping down from as showrunner on the popular The CW drama, a role he’s held since 2017.

RELATED: The Flash Star Grant Gustin Reacts to Arrow Ending

Replacing Helbing will be Eric Wallace, a co-executive producer on The Flash since Season 4. Wallace also holds a co-executive producer credit on MTV’s Teen Wolf, as well as writing credits for several fourth and fifth season episodes of The Flash, including the crossover episode “Elseworlds.”

"Eric Wallace has proven his own exceptional talent and voice since season four, and we couldn’t be more thrilled to watch how he shapes the future of Team Flash and the many thrilling adventures that lay ahead for our characters and dedicated fans," Executive Producer Greg Berlanti said in a statement.

Though Helbing is departing as showrunner, he’s not straying too far. He's moving up into a new position with Warner Bros. TV, where he'll be overseeing development for new television programs.

"From his first day on The Flash, Todd Helbing has been a leader on the show, beloved by the cast and crew for his exceptional talent, vision, and wonderful attitude. We are all sad to see him go, but we will all be better for the many shows he will no doubt create and run in the future," Berlanti said.

Helbing has been the lone Flash showrunner since November 2017, filling the void left by series creator Andrew Kreisberg. Kreisberg, responsible for the creation of Arrow, Legends of Tomorrow and Supergirl, was abruptly fired following several allegations of sexual misconduct.

RELATED: The CW Announces 2019 Arrowverse Season Finale Dates

Season 5 of The Flash, the final of Helbing’s tenure as showrunner, will air its finale May 13. The showrunner changes come hot on the heels of last week’s surprise announcement that Arrow’s upcoming Season 8 would be the last.

Airing Tuesdays at 8 p.m. ET/PT on The CW, The Flash stars Grant Gustin, Candice Patton, Carlos Valdes, Danielle Panabaker, Tom Cavanaugh, Jesse L. Martin, Danielle Nicolet, Hartley Sawyer and Jessica Parker Kennedy.

Walking Dead's New Showrunner Agrees: Daryl and Carol are Soulmates

More in TV