pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Terry Moore leads 2014 Ghastly Awards

by  in Comic News Comment
Terry Moore leads 2014 Ghastly Awards

With wins in three categories, including Best Ongoing Title and Best Writer, Rachel Rising creator Terry Moore led the 2014 Ghastly Awards, which recognize outstanding achievement in horror comics.

Established in 2011, the awards are named in honor of “Ghastly” Graham Ingels, the late illustrator best remembered for his work on such EC Comics titles as The Haunt of Fear and Tales from the Crypt. Creators may submit their own work for consideration by the judges, who then choose the nominees in each of the 15 categories.

Announced this morning, the winners are:

Best Ongoing Title
Rachel Rising (Abstract Studios)

Best Limited Series
Deadworld: Restoration (IDW Publishing)

Best One-Shot
Edgar Allan Poe’s Morella and the Murders in the Rue Morgue (Dark Horse)

Best Anthology
In the Dark (Tiny Behemoth Press/IDW Publishing)

Best Short Story in an Anthology
Beneath the Surface (Blokes Terrible Tomb of Terror #10)

Best Original Graphic Novel
Monsters & Other Stories (Dark Horse)

Best Archival Collection
The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: The Worst of Eerie Publications (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)

Best Writer
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Artist
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)

Best Inker
Mike Wolfer/Dan Parsons (The Curse of Ragdoll)

Best Letterer
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Colorist
Jay Fotos (’68 Rule of War, ’68 Homefront, Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)

Best Webcomic
Graveyard Gang, by Rich Clabaugh

Best Horror Comic Cover
Fan voting determined the winner
’68 Rule of War #1 (Nat Jones)

Hall of Fame Inductees
Al Hewetson
Jack Davis

Normanton Award Honoree
Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of horror comics for generations to come
Peter Normanton

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos