pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Tamakis, Beaton and Forsythe win Doug Wright Awards

by  in Comic News Comment
Tamakis, Beaton and Forsythe win Doug Wright Awards

The winners of the fifth annual Doug Wright Awards were announced last night in Toronto during a ceremony at the Art Gallery of Ontario.

Named for the late cartoonist Doug Wright, the awards recognize the best English-language comics in Canada. The winners of the 2009 Doug Wright Awards are:

Best Book: Skim, by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki (Groundwood Books)
Best Emerging Talent: Kate Beaton for History Comics
The Pigskin Peters Award: Matthew Forsythe for Ojingogo (Drawn & Quarterly)

The late James Llewellyn Frise, creator of the comic strips Birdseye Centre and Juniper Junction, was inducted into the Giants of the North: Canadian Cartoonists Hall of Fame.

CBC News has a report on the awards, with comments from creators and judges.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos