Tamaki, Rilly and Foster-Dimino lead Ignatz Awards slate

The nominees have been announced for the 2015 Ignatz Awards, featuring a diverse lineup of creators that's more than half women. The 2015 field is led by Sophia Foster-Dimino, Jillian Tamaki and Ethan Rilly, who received three noss each.

Presented annually at the Small Press Expo in Bethesda, Maryland, the awards are named in honor of the brick-wielding mouse in George Herriman’s Krazy Kat strip, and recognize achievement in comics and cartooning. Nominees are selected by a panel of five cartoonists — this year it was Lamar Abrams, Cara Bean, Robyn Chapman, Sophie Goldstein and Corrine Mucha — and then voted on by SPX attendees.

The winners will be presented Saturday, Sept. 19, at SPX. Here's the full list of nominees:

Outstanding ArtistEmily Carroll, Through the WoodsEd Luce, Wuvable OafRoman Muradov, (In a Sense) Lost and FoundJillian Tamaki, SuperMutant Magic AcademyNoah Van Sciver, Saint Cole

Outstanding Anthology or CollectionDrawn and Quarterly: 25 Years of Contemporary Cartooning, Comics and Graphic Novels, edited by Tom Devlin, Chris Oliveros, Peggy Burns, Tracy Hurren and Julia Pohl-MirandaAn Entity Observes All Things, by Box BrownHow to Be Happy, by Eleanor DavisPope Hats #4, by Ethan RillySuperMutant Magic Academy, by Jillian Tamaki

Outstanding Graphic NovelBeauty, by Kerascoët and HubertThe Oven, by Sophie GoldsteinRav, by Mickey ZacchilliSaint Cole, by Noah Van SciverWendy, by Walter Scott

Outstanding StoryDoctors, by Dash Shaw"Me As a Baby,” by Michael DeForge (from Lose #6)“Nature Lessons,” by Marguerite Van Cook and James Romberger (from The Late Child and Other Animals)“Sex Coven,” by Jillian Tamaki (from Frontier #7)Weeping Flower, Grows in Darkness, by Kris Mukai

Promising New TalentM. Dean, K.M. & R.P. & MCMLXXI (1971)Sophia Foster-Dimino, Sphincter, Sex FantasyDakota McFadzean, Don’t Get Eaten by AnythingJane Mai, SoftGina Wynbrandt, Big Pussy

Outstanding SeriesDumb, by Georgia WebberFrontier, edited by Ryan SandsMarch, by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin and Nate PowellPope Hats, by Ethan RillySex Fantasy, by Sophia Foster-Dimino

Outstanding ComicBorb, by Jason LittleThe Nature of Nature, by Disa WallanderThe Oven, by Sophie GoldsteinPope Hats 4, by Ethan RillyWeeping Flower, Grows in Darkness, by Kris Mukai

Outstanding MinicomicDevil’s Slice of Life, by Patrick CrottyEpoxy 5, by John PhamKing Cat #75, by John PorcellinoSex Fantasy #4, by Sophia Foster-DiminoWhalen: A Reckoning, by Audry

Outstanding Online ComicThe Bloody Footprint, by Lilli CarreCarriers, by Lauren WeinsteinMom Body, by Rebecca RoherO Human Star, by Blue DelliquantiWitchy, by Ariel Ries

American Vampire
Scott Snyder Announces New American Vampire Series Under DC Black Label

More in Comics