Taiyo Matsumoto and Emily Carroll win Cartoonist Studio Prize

Taiyo Matsumoto and Emily Carroll are the recipients of the second annual Cartoonist Studio Prize, presented by The Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies.

The two were selected by The Slate Book Review editor Dan Kois, the faculty and students of CCS and this year's guest judge, Chris Butcher, manager of The Beguiling in Toronto and co-founder of the Toronto Comic Arts Festival. Each winner receives $1,000.

Matsumoto (Blue Spring, Tekkonkinkreet) was honored in the graphic novel category for Sunny, Vols. 1-2 (Viz Media), selected from a shortlist that included Gilbert Hernandez for Julio's Day, Gene Luen Yang for Boxers & Saints and Rutu Modan for The Property.

Carroll (His Face All Red) took the best webcomic division for her widely circulated Out of Skin; a print collection of her online work will be published in July by an imprint of Simon & Schuster. Other finalists included Gabrielle Bell for Lucky, Erika Moen for Oh Joy, Sex Toy and Michael DeForge for Sticks Angelica.

Last year's winners were Chris Ware for Building Stories and Noelle Stevenson for Nimona.

How the Thomas Wayne Batman Survived DC's Flashpoint

More in Comics