pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Rogue One Pushes Past $1 Billion Worldwide

by  in Movie News Comment
Rogue One Pushes Past $1 Billion Worldwide

Proving far more unstoppable than the Empire’s superweapon, “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” has surpassed $1 billion at the worldwide box office.

RELATED: Marvel Announces “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” Adaptation

With a domestic tally of $512.2 million and another $499.1 million from international markets, the first “Star Wars” standalone film now stands at $1.011 billion after 39 days of release.

It’s the fourth film of 2016 — all of them Disney releases — to reach that milestone, after Marvel’s “Captain America: Civil War” ($1.153 billion), Pixar’s “Finding Dory” ($1.02 billion) and Disney Animation Studios’ “Zootopia” ($1.024 billion).

“Rogue One” boasts the second-highest North American gross of the “Star Wars” franchise, behind 2015’s “The Force Awakens,” which finished its run with $936.6 million. That film, which launched the new trilogy, earned $2.06 billion worldwide.

RELATED: “Rogue One” Tops China Box Office But Falls Short of “Force Awakens”

In the overseas market, the Gareth Edwards film earned $79.4 million in the United Kingdom, followed by China with $61.3 million and Germany $44.8 million.

Set just prior to the events of 1977’s “Star Wars,” “Rogue One” follows a ragtag group of Rebels who undertake the dangerous mission to steal the design plans for the Galactic Empire’s planet-destroying new superweapon, the Death Star.

Directed by Gareth Edwards, “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” stars Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Ben Mendelsohn, Donnie Yen, Mads Mikkelsen, Alan Tudyk, Riz Ahmed, Jiang Wen and Forest Whitaker.

(via The Hollywood Reporter)

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos