www.cbr.com

Slave Labor collects "Ursa Minors" in TPB

Official Press Release

"Ursa Minors" TPB

Ursa Minors is the new SLG graphic novel that answers the eternal question: What would happen if three twenty-something slackers get a hold of mysterious robotic bear suits, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need to kick a whole lot of ass? Well, a lot of cussing, Internet arguing, movie-referencing, beer-drinking and, of course, a whole lot off ass-kicking. Tom, Harry and Richard--also known as Bear One, Two and Three--use their super-strength, night vision and razor sharp claws to battle it out with ninjas, hippies, and robots by night and to do absolutely nothing useful by day.

advertising

Ursa Minors co-creators Paul Cote and Neil Kleid (Brownsville) set out to create an action comedy "fight comic" in the tradition of Scott Pilgrim or Street Angel. "We forget that they're called 'funny books' for a reason," said Kleid of the more "serious" spate of comics to hit the market. He and Cote fired up their instant messengers, kept some booze handy, and over the course of many late-night conversations, came up with Ursa Minors, a comic book about three guys Kleid calls "pop-culture-obsessed, beer-drinking misanthropes who contribute nothing to society except busted heads and unpaid bar tabs."

advertising

Cote and Kleid turned to finding an artist for their creation and soon teamed up with Fernando Pinto. "Fernando's art captured the energy and zaniness of what we're wrote," said Cote. "He's got lots of ideas and he never fails to crack me up with his artwork."

"The moment I saw his work I knew his style was a match for this insane, insane comic book," Kleid added.

Pinto's touches include a zipper in every robotic bear suit. "I always wondered how Iron Man went to the bathroom in that big clunky armor," he said, "so I decided to address that."

A bit more creative back and forth, and the trio had on their hands a comic full of what Pinto describes as "Action, comedy, sexiness, bears, little people, ninjas, robots and more sexiness."

advertising

Ursa Minors: The Collected Wait-for-the-Trade Edition collects all three issues of Ursa Minors, plus an all-new bonus story, and the first-ever, never-before-seen Ursa Minors story. It will be available in September 2008 and can be pre-ordered at comic book stores through Diamond with the code JUL083614.

Established in 1986, SLG Publishing is a San Jose, CA-based publisher of comics books and graphic novels. Operating under its imprints Slave Labor Graphics and Amaze Ink, SLG Publishing has published the work of such notable cartoonists as Jhonen Vasque, Evan Dorkin and Andi Watson. More information about the company can be found at their website, www.slgcomic.com.

Tags: slg publishing, ursa minors

advertising
DC Pulls Heroes in Crisis #7 Cover At Tom King's Request
advertising

More in Comics

Unique lists featuring pop culture, entertainment and crazy facts. Covering the hottest movie and TV topics that fans want. The most LOL-worthy things the Internet has to offer. A fresh take on sports: the biggest news and most entertaining lists. The only place to satisfy all of your guilty pleasures. The go-to source for comic book and superhero movie fans. Pregnancy and parenting news, given to you in a way nobody else has. The Most Entertaining Quiz Site In The World. The World's Most Entertaining Car Website A one-stop shop for all things video games. Website for moms seeking advice, community, and entertainment. Simply the World’s Most Interesting Travel Site.