The Seven Deadly Sins, Ranked According to Strength

The Seven Deadly Sins is a fantasy adventure series following seven knights that attempted to overthrow the region of Britannia but failed. 10 years later the holy knights that defended Britannia rebelled and took over the kingdom. The king’s daughter Elizabeth sets out on a quest to find the seven knights now known as the Seven Deadly Sins, to retake the kingdom.

RELATED: Seven Deadly Sins: 10 Hidden Details You Didn't Know About The Main Characters

This list looks at the strength of each of the Seven Deadly Sins at their max power level. Not all the power levels have been revealed in the show and will contain spoilers from the manga. To determine who is strongest, let’s look at the combat class. This is a combination of a characters magic, strength, and spirit power levels. This can be done thanks to Balor’s Magical Eye; a magic sensor Merlin gives to Hawk. For example, Hawk has a combat class of 30. Zero in magic, 25 in strength, and five in spirit.

Continue scrolling to keep reading

Click the button below to start this article in quick view

Start Now

8 Honourable Mention: Elizabeth - 1,925

As stated in the introduction, Elizabeth is the daughter of the king. While she is not a member of the Seven Deadly Sins, parts of the story are told from her perspective. She is also the backbone of the group, who often bringing everyone together in dire times. Elizabeth has a combat class of 1,925. 1,700 in magic, five in strength, and 220 in spirit. Elizabeth’s main ability is Ark which allows her to use light. Despite her low power level, she can damage much higher leveled opponents using it including Meliodas in assault mode.

7 Ban - 3,220

The sin of Greed, Ban is first on the list. Represented by the symbol of the Fox, he has a combat class of 3,220. Ban has 1,380 in magic, 930 in strength and 910 in spirit. While he has the lowest combat class of the Seven Deadly Sins, he is immortal after drinking from the fountain of youth given to him by Elaine, who sacrificed herself in the process. Ban’s main ability is snatch which allows him to steal an item or the physical abilities of another character. Watch out Kazuma, this is how it’s done.

RELATED: Top 10 Greatest Fantasy Anime From the 2000s

6 Merlin - 4,710

Merlin’s spot on this list doesn’t reflect her full power. The sin of gluttony comes in at 4,710 with 3,540 in magic, 70 in strength, and 1,100 in spirit. However, this is the last time there has been a reading on her combat class. In the Seven Deadly Sins manga, Merlin is seen defeating opponents with combat classes of over 160,000. It’s fair to say that her combat class has improved along with the other members of the Seven Deadly Sins. Merlin’s main ability is Infinity. It allows her to choose when a spell stops. If Merlin chooses to, the spell can last for infinity.

5 Gowther - 35,400

Gowther represents the sin of lust and started with a combat class of 3,100. He has 1,300 in magic, 500 in strength, and 1,300 in spirit. Although having amnesia, Gowther was originally part of the Demon Clan as one of the original 10 commandments. After regaining his memories Gowther’s combat class rose to 35,400. Gowther’s main ability is Invasion. In addition to being able to read the minds of his opponents, he can engulf them in their own mind.

RELATED: 10 Anime Characters Who Are More Powerful than Jotaro Kujo From Jojo's Bizarre Adventure

4 King - 41,600

King, the sin of sloth and known as Fairy King Harlequin, starts with a combat class of 4,190. He has 3,370 in magic, zero in strength, and 820 spirit. King’s main ability is Disaster which allows him to amplify the severity of injuries and attacks, let him control nature, and rule as Fairy King. Disaster also allows King to control the weapon, Chastieol, a sacred treasure in the form of a spear made from a sacred tree that can change form. King often keeps the form as a pillow which also acts as a shield. When Chastieol’s true form is released, King’s power level is increased by roughly 11,000-12,000. After undergoing a trial, King’s wings grew, increasing his combat class to 41,600, having 38,800 in magic, zero in strength, and 2,800 in spirit.

3 Diane - 48,000-50,000

Nothing like a strong female character in a great anime. The dancing giantess Diane carries the sin of envy. Her combat class changes many times through the series but starts at 3,250. She has 900 in magic, 1,870 in strength, and 480 in spirit. Diane undergoes a trial as well, and after passing, her combat class is raised to 8,800. Since Diane is part of the Giant Clan, she can manipulate the earth. Her other ability is Drole’s Dance. By performing the dance, she can increase her power level, and ultimately increase her combat class. When she is human size, performing Drole’s Dance increases her combat class from 2,330 to 15,100. When Diane is in giant size, she can raise her combat class over 50,000 but is limited to 50,000 by the Demon Cut Off.

Related: 10 Anime To Watch On Amazon Prime Right Now

2 Meliodas – 142,000

The Dragon’s sin of wrath, Meliodas is one of the main protagonists of the series. Meliodas can be argued to be the strongest character in the series based on the number of commandments he absorbs. At the start of the series, Meliodas has a combat class of 3,370. 400 in magic, 960 in strength, and 2,010 in spirit. This is because most of his power has been sealed by Merlin. Meliodas was revealed as a demon and a member of the demon clan. With his demon mark, his combat class is raised to 4,400. After half of his demon power is released, known as Berserk, Meliodas’s combat class is raised to 10,300. After receiving his power back, his combat class raises to 60,000. When entering assault mode, his combat class is raised to 142,000. Meliodas’s main ability is Full Counter which allows him to reflect a direct magic attack back at the user with increased power.

1 Escanor - Invincible?

The strongest of the Seven Deadly Sins is Escanor, the lion’s sin of pride. Escanor didn’t make his anime debut until the final episode of the OVA special Seven Deadly Sins: Signs of Holy War. Escanor’s main ability is Sunshine which fluctuates his power level based on the sun. During the night, Escanor is at his weakest with a combat class of 15. Five magic, five strength, and five spirit. As the sun begins to rise so does his combat class. During the day, Escanor has a combat class of roughly 28,000. The sun is able to raise Escanor's combat class to over 50,000 around noon. When the sun is at its highest point Escanor enters The One Mode. In this mode he is essentially invincible, but only for one minute landing him the top spot on this list. Who knows, maybe he will be able to take a punch from Saitama in this form.

NEXT: 10 Anime To Watch On Hulu Right Now

Next Wonder Woman: 10 Things You Didn't Know About Her Creator William Moulton Marston

More in Lists