pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Saturn Awards Honor “Supergirl’s” Benoist, “X-Men: Apocalypse’s” Kinberg & More

by  in Movie News, TV News Comment
Saturn Awards Honor “Supergirl’s” Benoist, “X-Men: Apocalypse’s” Kinberg & More

Today the Saturn Awards Organization announced the recipients of this year’s special achievement awards. The honorees included “Supergirl’s” Melissa Benoist, “Star Trek’s” Nichelle Nichols, “X-Men: Apocalypse’s” Simon Kinberg, “Star Trek’s” Brannon Braga, and “Supernatual’s” Erik Kripke.

These nominees will receive their achievement awards at the 42nd annual Saturn Awards on June 22, which will be hosted by “Arrow” and “Doctor Who” star John Barrowman.

Melissa Benoist will receive Saturn’s Breakthrough Performance Award. She is being recognized for being “one of this generation’s brightest talents..” She is considered a “positive role model to young kids,” due to her work playing Kara Zor-El on “Supergirl.”

Simon Kinberg will receive the George Pal Memorial Award, for being “a true creative force in the entertainment field having written screenplays for ‘Mr. and Mrs. Smith,’ ‘Jumper,’ ‘Sherlock Holmes,’ and ‘This Means War.'” Kinberg is also being recognized for his work producing “The Martian” and the upcoming “X-Men: Apocalypse.”

Nichelle Nichols will be presented with Saturn’s Lifetime Achievement Award for her “contributions to genre entertainment, the musical arts, and her tireless support of NASA and space exploration.” Nichols portrayed Communications Officer Lt. Uhura on “Star Trek: The Original Series,” and has since devoted her life to promoting the exploration of space with NASA.

Eric Kripke will be given the Dan Curtis Legacy Award for being “one of the most successful and sought after showrunners in television today.” Kripke is best known for his work on The CW series “Supernatural,” which is currently in its 11th season.

Brannon Braga will receive the Special Recognition Award for his work on “Salem,” “Star Trek: The Next Generation,” “Star Trek: Voyager,” “Star Trek: Enterprise,” and “Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey.” He is “deserving of special recognition for his contributions to genre entertainment.”

Lastly, AMC’s “Breaking Bad” spinoff series “Better Call Saul” will receive Saturn’s Spotlight Award for having a “brilliant creative team of writers, directors, producers, and an ensemble of some of the best actors working in the tv medium.”

The 42nd annual Saturn Awards will be held June 22 in Burbank, California.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos