SAN DIEGO, DAY 2: Moore, Ware Win Big at Eisners, Thompson, Russell, Millionare Take Home Multiple Awards

It was a night of usual suspects and surprise winners at the 2001 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards Friday night at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

Alan Moore and Chris Ware maintained their stranglehold on the Eisners, with each winning three awards. Moore won for Best Single Issue for "Promethea" #10, Best Continuing Series for "Top 10" and Best Writer for the ABC line, while Ware won for Best Graphic Album – Reprint for "Jimmy Corrigan," Best Coloring for "Acme Novelty Library" #14 and Best Publication Design for "Jimmy Corrigan."

But this year, a few faces less commonly seen on the stage got to accept awards. Jill Thompson took home two awards (Best Title for a Younger Audience and Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (Interior Art)), and she thanked a perennial winner for his absence.

"Wow, I guess I'm not going to win any more again," she said, upon accepting the award for Best Painter. "And I want to thank Alex Ross for not being nominated."

In what was almost certainly the best year ever in the history of comics based on operas, P. Craig Russell took home two awards for his "Ring of the Nibelung," Best Limited Series and Best Penciller/Inker.

And last year's winner of the Talent Deserving of Wider Recognition, Tony Millionaire, won awards for the Best Humor Publication ("Sock Monkey," volume three) and Best Writer/Artist – Humor.

Sergio Aragonés seems to think Millionaire has a shot at being a regular up on stage: "I just hope Mr. Millionaire will not write short stories from now on," Aragonés said, as he accepted the award for Best Short Story for "The Gorilla Suit."

This year, the Talent Deserving of Wider Recognition award went to Alex Robinson, creator of "Box Office Poison."

"Comics can be better if we keep trying," Robinson said when accepting the award. "So I promise to keep trying if you keep trying, so let's keep rocking and rolling."

Will Eisner took him an award with his name on it – twice – for Best Archival Collection/Project for "The Spirit Archives," volumes one and two.

You don't know what I did to get this award," Eisner said. "I had to get the whole damn thing named after me to get the award."

Some went to less extreme measures:

"If I thought we were gonna win, I would have worn pants," a shorts-wearing Brian Michael Bendis said, accepting the award for Best New Series for "Powers."

A full listing of the winners follows.

  • Best Humor Publication - Sock Monkey, vol. 3, by Tony Millionaire (Dark Horse Maverick)
  • Best Anthology - Drawn & Quarterly, vol. 3, edited by Chris Oliveros (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Best U.S. Edition of Foreign Material - Lone Wolf and Cub, by Kazuo Koike and Goseki Kojima (Dark Horse)
  • Best Coloring - Chris Ware, Acme Novelty Library #14 (Fantagraphics)
  • Best Lettering - Todd Klein, Promethea, Tom Strong, Tomorrow Stories, Top 10 (ABC); The Invisibles, The Dreaming (Vertigo/DC); Castle Waiting (Cartoon Books)
  • Talent Deserving of Wider Recognition - Alex Robinson (Box Office Poison)
  • Best Title for a Younger Audience - Scary Godmother: The Boo Flu, by Jill Thompson (Sirius)
  • Best Comics-Related Book - Wonder Woman: The Complete History, by Les Daniels (Chronicle Books)
  • Best Publication Design - Jimmy Corrigan, designed by Chris Ware (Pantheon)
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team - P. Craig Russell, Ring of the Nibelung (Dark Horse Maverick)
  • Best Painter /Multimedia Artist (interior art) - Jill Thompson, Scary Godmother (Sirius)
  • Best Cover Artist - Brian Bolland, Batman: Gotham Knights, The Flash (DC); The Invisibles (Vertigo/DC)
  • Best Archival Collection/Project - The Spirit Archives, vols. 1 and 2, by Will Eisner (DC)
  • Best Graphic Album – Reprint - Jimmy Corrigan, by Chris Ware (Pantheon)
  • Best Graphic Album – New - Safe Area Gorazde, by Joe Sacco
  • Best New Series - Powers, by Brian Michael Bendis and Michael Avon Oeming (Image)
  • Best Continuing Series - Top 10, by Alan Moore, Gene Ha, and Zander Cannon (ABC)
  • Best Limited Series - The Ring of the Nibelung, by P. Craig Russell, with Patrick Mason (Dark Horse Maverick)
  • Best Writer - Alan Moore, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Promethea, Tom Strong, Top Ten, Tomorrow Stories (ABC)
  • Best Writer/Artist - Eric Shanower, Age of Bronze (Image)
  • Best Writer/Artist – Humor - Tony Millionaire, Maakies (Fantagraphics), Sock Monkey (Dark Horse Maverick)
  • Best Serialized Story - 100 Bullets #15-18 : "Hang Up on the Hang Low," by Brian Azzarello and Eduardo Risso (Vertigo/DC)
  • Best Single Issue - Promethea #10: "Sex, Stars, and Serpents," by Alan Moore, J. H. Williams III, and Mick Gray (ABC)
  • Best Short Story - "The Gorilla Suit," by Sergio Aragonés, in Streetwise (TwoMorrows)
  • Hall of Fame - Judges' Choices - Dale Messick, Roy Crane
  • Hall of Fame - Chester Gould, Frank King, E. C. Segar, Marie Severin

"Astronaut Academy" Graphic Novel Series Sets Course for TV and Film

More in Comics