pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

RUMOR: Avengers: Infinity War Synopsis Confirms Thanos’ Endgame & More

by  in Movie News Comment
RUMOR: Avengers: Infinity War Synopsis Confirms Thanos’ Endgame & More

Since Marvel Studios has been hinting at this for the last four years, fans of the Marvel Cinematic Universe have long suspected that Thanos and his iconic Infinity Gauntlet will feature in 2018’s “Avengers: Infinity War.” Today, LRM Online claims to have acquired a plot synopsis that confirms these details — and more.

According to LRM, “Infinity War” will “start with the exact premise of the ‘Infinity Gauntlet’ comic book crossover series as opposed to the actual ‘Infinity War’ storyline.” The film will feature Thanos collecting the six Infinity Stones and wielding the Infinity Gauntlet — which gives him godlike powers — in an effort to woo the living personification of Death, who has taken the form of a woman. As in the comics, the Mad Titan will try to win Death’s love by committing genocide on a cosmic scale and extinguishing half the souls in the universe.

Although the casting of Death has yet to confirmed, some fans have suggested that Cate Blanchett’s character Hela — the Asgardian goddess of death in “Thor: Ragnarok” — will be the object of Thanos’ affection; the alleged synopsis neither confirms nor denies the theory.


While the film will retain the main villain and storyline of the comic book event, the heroes will change. Thanos will take on the Guardians of the Galaxy as well as the titular Avengers.

In the comics, “Infinity War” pits Adam Warlock against Magus. While neither of these characters currently feature in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, astute fans have pointed out that Warlock’s cocoon was on display in a glass case owned by the Collector in “Guardians of the Galaxy.” It is unclear at this time if either of them will appear in the film.

The MCU’s Thanos first appeared at the end of Joss Whedon’s “The Avengers” in 2012, where it was revealed that he was the true mastermind behind the failed Chitauri invasion of Earth. Vexed at the outcome, the villain’s henchman said that dealing with the Avengers would be “courting death itself” — a throwaway line that was in fact full of meaning and thrilled fans of the character.

The lead up to “Infinity War” has been long, and four of the six Infinity Stones have made appearances in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Seen in both “Captain America: The First Avenger” and “The Avengers,” the blue Space Stone was used for teleportation by the Red Skull and Loki, but now resides in Asgaard. The red Reality Stone, which appeared in “Thor: The Dark World,” was given to the Collector for safekeeping; its power is unclear. “Guardians of the Galaxy’s” purple Power Stone has the power to destroy all organic life on a planet. It is housed in the Nova Corps headquarters. The yellow Mind Stone initially powered Loki’s scepter but now belongs to the Vision, leading to rumors that the Avenger must die in or before “Infinity War” for Thanos to attain his means to power. The Soul and Time Stones have yet to be revealed, though one of them may be unveiled in this November’s “Doctor Strange.”


Thanos, who was also the mastermind behind Ronan’s attack on the Nova Corps in “Guardians of the Galaxy,” was last seen at the end of “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” where he donned the Infinity Gauntlet and proclaimed, “Fine. I’ll do it myself.”

“Thor: Ragnarok” is currently filming and is set for an October 25, 2017 release. “Avengers: Infinity War,” which starts filming in Atlanta the first week of November, will be co-directed by “Captain America: Civil War’s” Anthony and Joe Russo and is scheduled to open May 25, 2018.

(via ScreenRant)

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos