www.cbr.com

Power Rangers' Shattered Grid Is The Key To A More Adult Franchise

Everyone, tell me a little about how much you think about that audience and those older readers. Also, I wonder what you all think about the book's general reception in the comics market. I'm sure a lot of people thought of Power Rangers as a simple kids franchise. Did you go into it saying, "We're going to prove the doubters wrong"?

Kyle Higgins: I'd say for me it's been all about taking the superhero storytelling muscles I developed over the years on Marvel and DC books and bringing it to a property like Power Rangers where we can tell a monthly team superhero book. I've thought of it in the vein of Justice League or Teen Titans or a great X-Men run. It's taking some of those aesthetics and traits and bringing them to the brand. That includes everything from alternate timelines to universe-hopping adventures mixed with real interpersonal drama. It's all the superhero storytelling ideas in a format unlimited by budget or pre-existing footage that limits you in live-action. It allows us to take Power Rangers and show it in its best possible light. It shows us what made us fans of this in the first place.

advertising

RELATED: Power Rangers: Shattered Grid Starts with Franchise-Changing Moment

Ryan Parrott: I would add to that we've always felt Power Rangers was this unearthed treasure in comic books. It's a thing with all these years of weird history that had been untapped for an older audience. I've got to give credit to our editor Dafna [Pleban], though she's modest about it. When she brought me on and told me that she wanted to do a second book, she had a very clear vision of what Kyle's style was and what my working design would be. She wanted to expand into a new avenue for the audience.

For me, I grew up very late for the series. I only watched maybe the first season and then got back into years later. I was sort of unqualified to write Power Rangers. [Laughs] But Dafna told me what she wanted to do with it and how it would be set in the real world and be about kids trying to be superheroes while also trying to survive high school. That's what made me say "Absolutely." In a weird way, it taught me what I love most about comic books and about what I want to do there. I didn't come in saying, "I want to do this." The brand actually showed me what I liked.

advertising

Melissa Flores: Absolutely. One thing we really wanted to do when we started these books with the writers and with Dafna was to take seasons like Mighty Morphin Power Rangers and retell the kinds of stories we couldn't tell in the medium we have – a kids live-action television show that airs for 20-minutes and has footage restrictions and budget restrictions. There's something you're limited by. But this allows us to skew the stories older and really dive into the characters. We don't have a budget but artists with amazing imaginations. These incredible writers are able to take the skeleton of what we've created and color in with such a larger spectrum that we couldn't have imagined. Our fans couldn't have imagined this, but we always knew we wanted it all the same.

advertising

RELATED: Power Rangers’ Villain Lord Drakkon Scores His First Funko POP!

This wasn't a stumble, and it wasn't an accident. Because I think everybody knew the potential. But I think it was absolutely surprising in the best possible way how adamantly the fandom responded and how passionately they love the writers and artists as much as we do. It's amazing and gratifying for us. I just read an outline and had to stop myself from texting Marguerite and going, "What?! How could you?" [Bennett Laughs] I text Ryan and Kyle all the time going, "WHY?" That's the best way to tell stories – emotionally. You want to do that for the brand, but you also want to do it for the fans. This is the perfect marriage of that.

advertising
What Was Batman Up To While Dick Grayson Filled In as Batman?
advertising

More in CBR Exclusives