Peter Jackson Reveals Poster For <i>The Hobbit</i> Comic-Con Appearance

Ahead of Saturday's Hall H presentation, Peter Jackson has revealed the Comic-Con International poster for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, the first part of his two-move adaptation of J.R.R. Tolkien's beloved novel. The image of course shows Ian McKellen as Gandalf the Grey on a path in Hobbiton.

"Hi everyone. Here's an exclusive Comic Con poster," the director wrote on his Facebook page. "Be sure to get your copy in San Diego and let me know what you think of it!"

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey opens on Dec. 14, 2012, followed by The Hobbit: There and Back Again on Dec. 13, 2013.

The adventure follows the journey of title character Bilbo Baggins, who is swept into an epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor from the fearsome dragon Smaug. Approached out of the blue by the wizard Gandalf the Grey, Bilbo finds himself joining a company of thirteen dwarves led by the legendary warrior, Thorin Oakenshield. Their journey will take them into the Wild; through treacherous lands swarming with Goblins and Orcs, deadly Wargs and Giant Spiders, Shapeshifters and Sorcerers.

Although their goal lies to the East and the wastelands of the Lonely Mountain first they must escape the goblin tunnels, where Bilbo meets the creature that will change his life forever … Gollum.

Ian McKellen returns as Gandalf the Grey, the character he played in The Lord of the Rings trilogy, and Martin Freeman in the central role of Bilbo Baggins. Also reprising their roles from The Lord of the Rings movies are: Cate Blanchett as Galadriel; Ian Holm as the elder Bilbo; Christopher Lee as Saruman; Hugo Weaving as Elrond; Elijah Wood as Frodo; Orlando Bloom as Legolas; and Andy Serkis as Gollum.

The ensemble cast also includes (in alphabetical order) Richard Armitage, John Bell, Jed Brophy, Adam Brown, John Callen, Luke Evans, Stephen Fry, Ryan Gage, Mark Hadlow, Peter Hambleton, Barry Humphries, Stephen Hunter, William Kircher, Evangeline Lilly, Sylvester McCoy, Bret McKenzie, Graham McTavish, Mike Mizrahi, James Nesbitt, Dean O’Gorman, Lee Pace, Mikael Persbrandt, Conan Stevens, Ken Stott, Jeffrey Thomas and Aidan Turner.

Flash Film No Longer Running in Place, Sets Release Date

More in Movies