'Penny Dreadful' Scares Up Third Season on Showtime

There's just no killing the things that go bump in the night. Showtime has renewed its original series "Penny Dreadful" for a nine-episode third season, set to air in 2016.

Created, executive produced and written by Academy Award nominee John Logan, "Penny Dreadful" follows Vanessa Ives (Eva Green), Ethan Chandler (Josh Hartnett), Sir Malcolm (Timothy Dalton), Sembene (Danny Sapani) and Dr. Frankenstein (Harry Treadaway) as they band together to take down the supernatural threats set upon their destruction. All the while, classic literary characters like Dorian Gray (Reeve Carney) and the Creature (Rory Kinnear) fight their own battles.

Season 2 has seen a guest appearance by Patti LuPone as a mysterious figure from Vanessa's past, as well as Douglas Hodge as a Scotland Yard investigator, and Helen McCrory reprising her role as Evelyn Poole, an evil spiritualist.

"John Logan's brilliant writing and this amazingly talented ensemble continue to draw a passionate, global fan base into the meticulously crafted world of 'Penny Dreadful,'" Showtime President David Nevins said in a statement. "Together with our wonderful partners at Sky Atlantic, we’re excited to see what new haunts John and his team have in store for season three."

The BAFTA Award-winning series is currently in its second season, airing Sundays at 10p.m. ET/PT. The season finale is set for Sunday, July 5.

Batwoman Showrunner & Co-Star On Sophie’s Journey & Kate’s Dual Identity

More in TV