pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Nominees revealed for 2014 Ghastly Awards

by  in Comic News Comment
Nominees revealed for 2014 Ghastly Awards

The nominees have been announced for the 2014 Ghastly Awards, which recognize outstanding achievement in horror comics.

Established in 2011, the awards are named in honor of “Ghastly” Graham Ingels, the late illustrator best remembered for his work on such EC Comics titles as The Haunt of Fear and Tales from the Crypt. Creators may submit their own work for consideration by the judges, who then choose the nominees in each of the 15 categories. Fan and creator voting will begin Feb. 9 on the awards website.

The nominees are:

Best Ongoing Title:
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)
Crossed: Badlands (Avatar Press)
Nailbiter (Image Comics)
Outcast (Image Comics)
Rachel Rising (Abstract Studios)

Best Limited Series:
‘68: Homefront (Image Comics)
Caliban (Avatar Press)
Deadworld: Restoration (IDW Publishing)
The Strain: The Fall (Dark Horse)
Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland (IDW Publishing)Best One-Shot:
Crossed: Special 2014 (Avatar Press)
Dismal Incantation (Herman Inclusus)
Edgar Allan Poe’s Morella and the Murders in the Rue Morgue (Dark Horse)
Edgar Allan Poe’s The Premature Burial (Dark Horse)
Killogy: Halloween Special (IDW Publishing)Best Anthology:
Bloke’s Terrible Tomb of Terror #10 (Indy)
God Is Dead: The Book of Acts – Alpha (Avatar Press)
Hellraiser: Bestiary (BOOM! Studios)
In the Dark (Tiny Behemoth Press/IDW Publishing)
Monstrosity Vol. 2 (Alterna Comics)Best Short Story in an Anthology:
“Beneath the Surface” (Blokes Terrible Tomb of Terror #10)
“Grandeur and Monstrosity” (God Is Dead: The Book of Acts – Alpha)
“Not All There” (In the Dark)
“Red World” (Grimm Tales of Terror #4)
Trial by Cauldron (Canaan Cult Revival)Best Original Graphic Novel:
Carbon (Caliber Comics)
Monsters & Other Stories (Dark Horse)
The Absence (Titan Comics)
The Curse of Ragdoll (Mike Wolfer Entertainment)
The Shadows of Salamanca (Humanoids Inc.)

Best Archival Collection:
Collection of previously released material / Historical Book on Horror Comics
28 Days Later Omnibus (BOOM! Studios)
EC Archives:The Vault of Horror Volume 3 (Dark Horse)
Serenity Rose: 10 Awkward Years (SLG Publishing)
Swampmen: Muck-Monsters and Their Makers (TwoMorrows Publishing)
The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: The Worst of Eerie Publications (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)

Best Writer:
Alex de Campi (Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight)
Joe Hill (Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)
Joshua Williamson (Nailbiter, Ghosted)
Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa (Afterlife with Archie, Chilling Adventures of Sabrina)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Artist:
Ben Templesmith (Squidder)
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)
Herman Inclusus (Dismal Incantation)
Leonardo Manco (John Carpenter’s Asylum)
Menton3 (Memory Collectors, Nosferatu Wars)

Best Inker:
Christian DiBari (Cutter)
John Bivens (Dark Engine)
Martin Stiff (The Absence)
Mike Wolfer/Dan Parsons (The Curse of Ragdoll)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Letterer:
Herman Inclusus (Dismal Incantation)
Jack Morelli (Afterlife with Archie)
Rachel Deering (In the Dark, Creepy, Chilling Adventures of Sabrina)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
Tyler & Ma’at Crook (Bad Blood)

Best Colorist:
Elizabeth Breitweiser (Outcast)
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)
Jay Fotos (’68 Rule of War, ’68 Homefront, Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)
Kelly Fitzpatrick (Dark Engine)
Tyler Crook (Bad Blood)

Best Webcomic:
Graveyard Gang
Karma Springs
Split Lip

Best Horror Comic Cover:
Fan voting will determine the winner
’68 Rule of War #1 (Nat Jones)
’68 Rule of War #3 Cover B (Tim Vigil & Jay Fotos)
Afterlife with Archie #6 (Francesco Francavilla)
Caliban #1 Terror (Facundo Percio, Sebastian Cabrol & Hernan Cabrera)
Hellraiser: Bestiary #4 Cover B (Daniele Serra)
Memory Collectors #3 Sub. Variant (David Stoupakis)
Nosferatu Wars (Menton3)

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Al Hewetson
Jack Davis

Normanton Award Honoree:
Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of Horror Comics for generations to come.
Peter Normanton

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos