Nominees have been announced for the eighth annual Rondo Hatton Classic Horror Awards, which honor the best in "monster research, creativity and film preservation."

The fan awards include some 30 categories, from movies to books to horror blogs, but what most relates to us is Best Horror Comic Book. Those nominees are:

The Astounding Wolf-Man, by Robert Kirkman and Jason Howard (Image Comics)• Batman: Gotham After Midnight, by Steve Niles and Kelley Jones (DC Comics)• Beasts of Burden, by Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse)• Carnival of Souls and Other Futile Inquiries, by Michael H. Price (Midnight Marquee Press)• The Complete Dracula, by Leah Moore, John Reppion and Colton Worley (Dynamite Entertainment)• The Goon, by Eric Powell (Dark Horse)• Hellboy: The Wild Hunt, by Mike Mignola and Duncan Fegredo (Dark Horse)• Lenore, Vol. II, by Roman Dirge (Titan Publishing)• Locke & Key: Head Games, by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW Publishing)• Robot 13, by Thomas Hall and Daniel Bradford (Blacklist Studios)• Science Fiction Classics: Graphic Classics, by miscellaneous (Eureka Productions)• Victorian Undead, by Ian Edginton and Davide Fabbri (Wildstorm)• Vincent Price Presents, by miscellaneous (Bluewater Productions)

Votes may be cast by email through April 3. The winners will be announced April 4 on the Classic Horror Film Board. See the full list of nominees and voting rules here.

The link comes via Evan Dorkin, who admits he was "geeked out a bunch" to learn of the nomination for Beasts of Burden, in part because winners receive a bust of the awards' namesake, classic B-movie actor Rondo Hatton.

"Who wouldn't want a cool-looking little Rondo Hatton bust with their name on it sitting on their bookshelf?" Dorkin writes. "Well, a lot of folks, I guess (my mom wouldn't like it, but she's not nominated, so ha-ha on her). But I sure as hell would love one."

Rick Grimes 2000 Walking Dead
The Walking Dead's Robert Kirkman Explains the Origin of Rick Grimes 2000
About The Author