Nominees announced for 2014 Russ Manning Award

The nominees have been announced for the 2014 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award, named for the renowned creator of Magnus, Robot Fighter and illustrator of the Tarzan and Star Wars comic strips.

Presented annually since 1982, the award recognizes an artist who, early in his or her career, "shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics." Previous winners include Dave Stevens, Eleanor Davis, Jeff Smith, Marion Churchland, David Petersen and Art Adams.

This year's nominees are:

Aaron Conley, artist of Sabertooth Swordsman (Dark Horse)

Vanesa R. Del Rey, artist of Hit (BOOM! Studios)

Stephan Franck, writer/artist of Silver (Dark Planet)

Anders Lazaret, artist of The Brave (Mythos Comics)

Greg Smallwood, artist of Dream Thief (Dark Horse)

The Nominees were selected by a committee made up of representatives from the West Coast Comics Club and Comic-Con International; the winner will be chosen by previous Manning award winners and Russ Manning assistants. The recipient will be announced July 25 during the Eisner Awards ceremony at Comic-Con.

A Fan-Favorite Into the Spider-Verse Character Returns to Save a Dying Hero

More in Comics