Neil Gaiman writes 'Doctor Who' e-book for 50th anniversary

Neil Gaiman has written the final short story in a series of e-books released to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who, each centering on one of the Time Lord's 11 incarnations. Titled "Nothing O'Clock," it stars the Eleventh Doctor (as played by Matt Smith) and Amy Pond.

"I set it somewhere during the first season of Matt Smith, mostly on Earth, in our time now and in 1984, but also somewhere else, a very, very long time ago," Gaiman, whose 2012 Doctor Who episode "The Doctor's Wife" won a Hugo Award, explained to The Guardian. "I had never created an original monster for Doctor Who and really enjoyed getting to create a creepy Doctor Who monster of the kind that we haven't quite seen before. … I hope that the Kin will get out there and occasionally give people nightmares. And that you will be worried if a man in a rabbit mask comes to your door and tries to buy your house."

"Nothing O'Clock" will be available Nov. 21, the same day the collection Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 Stories will be released in print by Puffin. The other 10 authors are: Eoin Colfer, Michael Scott, Marcus Segdwick, Philip Reeve, Patrick Ness, Richelle Mead, Malorie Blackman, Alex Scarrow, Charlie Higson and Derek Landy.

You can read an excerpt from "Nothing O'Clock" on the Guardian website.

Spawn #302 Covers Feature Todd McFarlane's All-New She-Spawn

More in Comics