National Cartoonists Society announces Divisional Awards nominees

The National Cartoonists Society has announced the nominees for its 2012 NCS Divisional Awards, which will be presented May 26 during the 66th annual NCS Reuben Awards in Las Vegas.

TELEVISION ANIMATION• Ben Bocquelet and Antoine Perez, production design on The Wonderful World of Gumball (Cartoon Network)• Penn Ward, character design on Adventure Time (Cartoon Network)• Erik Wiese, production design on The Mighty B (Nickelodeon)

FEATURE ANIMATION• Mark McCreery, character design: Rango• Carlos Saldanha, director: Rio• Jennifer Yuh-Nelson, director: Kung Fu Panda: The Kaboom of Doom

NEWSPAPER ILLUSTRATION• Glen LeLievre• Michael McParlane• Bob Rich

GAG CARTOONS• Mathew Diffee• Zach Kanin• Barbara Smaller

GREETING CARDS• Dave Klug• Glenn McCoy• Rick Stromoski

NEWSPAPER COMIC STRIPS• Glenn McCoy, The Duplex• Jeff Parker, Dustin• Mike Peters, Mother Goose and Grimm

NEWSPAPER PANEL CARTOONS• Mark Parisi, Off the Mark• Stephanie Piro, Smile• Wiley Miller, Non Sequitur


BOOK ILLUSTRATION• Barbara Lehman, The Secret Box• Mark Pett, The Girl Who Never Made Mistakes• John Rocco, Blackout

EDITORIAL CARTOONS• Lisa Benson• Mike Lester• Mike Ramirez

ADVERTISING ILLUSTRATION• Nick Galifianakis• Kevin Kallauger (KAL)• Tom Stiglich

COMIC BOOKS• Darwyn Cooke, “Betty Saves the Day” from Rocketeer Adventures #2• Duncan Fegredo, Hellboy: The Fury• J.H. Williams III, Batwoman

GRAPHIC NOVELS• Chester Brown, Paying For It• Rick Geary, The Lives of Sacco and Vanzetti• Ben Katchor, The Cardboard Valise

ONLINE COMIC STRIPS• Matthew Inman, The Oatmeal• Mike Krahulik and Jerry Holkins, Penny Arcade• Jon Rosenberg, Scenes from a Multiverse

The above honorees join the previously announced nominees for The Reuben Award for Cartoonist of the Year:

• Brian Crane• Stephan Pastis• Tom Richmond

Jim Lee Unveils His Final Batman: Damned Cover

More in Comics