Naruto: Top 10 Strongest Kekkei Genkai Ranked

Naruto is one of the "Big Three" when it comes to anime and it has been a part of childhood for many people around the world. Created by Masashi Kishimoto, Naruto follows the story of an outcast named Naruto Uzumaki, who wants to grow up to become the Hokage. Over the next couple of decades, Naruto really grew in terms of popularity.

RELATED: Naruto: All 7 Susanoo Users, Ranked

The Naruto-verse boasts some of the strongest characters that you will ever come across. All of the super-strong characters have some overpowered abilities. Most of these abilities are Kekkei Genkai or Bloodline Limits. These abilities cannot be copied by the Sharingan as they are inherited. In this post, we will be discussing the strongest kekkei genkai abilities in Naruto.

10 Lava Release

Lava Release is achieved by combining fire release and earth release. Lava release is a pretty powerful kekkei genkai. This is one of the few kekkei genkai that has different forms depending on the user of the ability. Mei Terumi showed very high proficiency in using the Lava Release. She was able to melt the bones of Sasuke's susanoo with her Lava Release. Roshi was also able to use the Lava Release with help from its tailed beast, Son Goku.

9 Magnet Release

Magnet Release is said to be a combination of wind and earth release. A lot of characters in the series have been shown using this ability. The users of this kekkei genkai generate magnetic form and then use it on other objects. The Third Kazekage manipulated iron sand with the help of his magnet release. He studied the markings on the body of Shukaku and thus, he learned how to use it. Gaara's father also possessed the magnet released and he used it to control gold sand. His gold sand allowed Rasa to subdue Shukaku when it went berserk.

8 Scorch Release

Scorch Release is a unique bloodline ability that only a few characters have shown in the series. It is dubbed to be a result of combining fire and wind release. The most notable user of this ability was Pakura of the Hidden Sand. She was able to use Scorch Release in order to heat up the body of the target. This would cause the victim's body to desiccate due to the evaporation of all the liquid present in their body. Naruto and Sasuke have also combined their attacks to give rise to a Scorch Release attack.

RELATED: Naruto: All 10 Rinnegan Users, Ranked

7 Shikotsumyaku

Shikotsumyaku is a kekkei genkai ability that allows the user to change their bone structure. It is an ability that was seen in the members of the Kaguya Clan. Kimimaro was the last remaining member of the clan and he possessed the Shikotsumyaku. The ability allows the user to alter their skeletal structure and change the density of the bones. The user can make their bones as hard as steel. Kaguya Otsutsuki also possessed this ability, but she had an even deadlier variant, called All Killing Ash Bones, which is a kekkei mora.

6 Ketsuryugan

The Ketsuryugan is a dojustu that manifests in the users of the Chinoike clan. The only known user of this ability is Chino. One of the main abilities of the Ketsuryugan is to cast genjutsu on people either by skin contact or by meeting the gaze of the user. The user can also hypnotize the target and gain intel from them. Another ability of the Ketsuryugan is that it can manipulate the iron in blood or any liquid that is rich in iron. The power of dojutsu is compared to that of the "Three Great Dojutsu."

5 Byakugan

Byakugan is one of the Three Great Dojutsu. It is a kekkei genkai that originated from the Otsutsuki Clan. It was later developed in the Hyuuga Clan. The Byakugan gives the user almost a 360° vision and the only real opening is at the back of the neck. The Byakugan has a wide range of vision and it can even magnify objects. It is also able to see the chakra pathway system of a person. The Hyuuga Clan has developed the Gentle Fist in order to maximize the use of Byakugan. With the combination of the Gentle Fist and the Byakugan, they are able to hit the chakra points and seal them.

RELATED: Naruto: 5 Heroes & 5 Villains Ranked By Power

4 Wood Release

Wood Release was made famous by Hashirama Senju. This kekkei genkai is a combination of earth and water release. Wood release is a very powerful and dangerous kekkei genkai. Hashirama Senju is the only person who possessed the wood release naturally. Wood release has the ability to tame tailed beasts which is a very great ability. Hashirama was able to change entire landscapes with his Wood Release. Due to the immense power of the Wood Release, Hashirama was labeled the "God of Shinobi."

3 Sharingan

Sharingan is one of the Three Great Dojutsu along with Byakugan, and Rinnegan. The Sharingan is one of the most powerful abilities without a shadow of a doubt. It is the kekkei genkai unique to the Uchiha Clan. The Sharingan allows the user to see the chakra of an individual albeit not on the same level as the Byakugan. It also allows the user to copy the ability of another person, and the only exception to this are bloodline abilities. With the Sharingan, a person can cast genjutsu on their opponent. The Sharingan can be taken to another level known as the Mangekyou Sharingan that grants access to more unique powers and to the susanoo.

2 Tenseigan

Tenseigan is a dojutsu that was introduced in The Last: Naruto The Movie. This kekkei genkai ability can be awakened only by merging the chakra of an Otsutsuki clan member and a Hyuuga. Toneri needed Hanabi's Byakugan in order to awaken the Tenseigan. It takes several days before the Tenseigan can finally be awakened. When the Tenseigan is awakened, it gains blue pupils. Any person who possesses the Tenseigan can also use the Tenseigan Chakra Mode that gives the user access to truth seeking-balls.

1 Rinnegan

The final kekkei genkai ability on the list is the Rinnegan. Like Byakugan and Sharingan, it is also one of the "Three Great Dojutsu." The Rinnegan was first awakened by Hagoromo Otsutsuki, who was one of Kaguya's sons. Hagoromo used the power of the Rinnegan to beat and seal away his mother. The Rinnegan allows its users to master all five nature transformations. Adding to this, the Rinnegan grants access to the Six Paths Techniques. Each Rinnegan user has a unique ability like Madara's Limbo and Sasuke's Space-Time Ninjutsu.

NEXT: Boruto: 5 Characters That Could Replace Naruto As Hokage (& 5 Who Can’t)

Next Mobile Suit Gundam: The 10 Worst Pilots In The Whole Franchise, Ranked

More in Lists