Naruto: 5 Best Sage Mode Users (& 5 Worst)

Sage Mode is one of the strongest abilities in Naruto. It involves infusing one's own chakra with that of nature. This process looks fairly simple, but it really isn't. Once someone masters the sage mode, then they can use nature's energy to increase the power of their attacks and to replenish their chakra.

RELATED: Naruto: 5 Characters Kakashi Can Defeat (& 5 He Can’t)

Throughout the entire Naruto series, we have seen many ninjas who are capable of using the sage. There is a difference in how well each ninja can use the sage mode. In this post, we are going to discuss the best and worst sage mode users in Naruto.

10 Best: Naruto Uzumaki

Naruto Uzumaki is the Seventh Hokage of the Hidden Leaf. He is capable of using all the five natures. Naruto can use three types of sage modes. One is the sage mode from Mt. Myoboku. Naruto learned how to use the sage of Mt. Myoboku after Jiraiya's death. He used the sage mode to beat Pein.

He can enter the Tailed Beast Sage Mode as well. The third and final Sage Mode that Naruto can use Six Paths Sage Mode. This is one of the most powerful abilities in the entire series. While in this mode, Naruto is capable of beating the strongest enemies.

9 Worst: Minato Namikaze

Minato was the Fourth Hokage of the Hidden Leaf. He was also known as the "Yellow Flash of the Leaf." Minato was a driving force behind Konoha's success in the Third Great Ninja War. Minato had a different approach to fights. He had mastered the Flying Raijin jutsu of the Second Hokage and he also invented the Rasengan.

Most of his fights would end in an instant, so he never showed variation. This is one of the main reasons why no one ever knew that Minato could use the sage mode as well. Also, he is unable to maintain the sage mode for long periods of time.

8 Best: Hagoromo Otsutsuki

Hagoromo Otsutsuki is also known as the "Sage of Six Paths." He was the first person to be born with chakra. Also, Hagoromo is the first person who awakened the Rinnegan. Hagoromo inherited the powerful chakra of his mother, Kaguya. After learning about Kaguya's way of dealing with things, Hagoromo and his brother, Hamura, launched a rebellion against their mother.

The fight lasted for months and in the end, Kaguya was sealed by her sons. This also led to Hagoromo becoming the jinchuriki of the Ten-Tails and thus, gaining access to Six Paths Chakra and Six Paths Sage Mode.

RELATED: Naruto: 10 Characters Who Failed To Become A Kage

7 Worst: Obito Uchiha

Obito Uchiha is one of the major antagonists in Naruto. He was one of the three Uchiha that were alive after the massacre of the clan. Obito awakened his Mangekyou Sharingan at an early age. His Mangekyou Sharingan gave him an ability called Kamui. With Kamui activated any attack directed towards Obito would just pass through him.

During the Fourth Great Ninja War, Obito became the jinchuriki of the Ten-Tails. The Ten-Tails possesses Six Paths Chakra, so Obito gained access to Six Paths Sage Mode. But, he couldn't handle being the jinchuriki of the Ten-Tails and he underwent a psychological breakdown.

6 Best: Hashirama Senju

Next up on the list is Hashirama Senju. Hashirama was the First Hokage of the Hidden Leaf. He was a reincarnate of Ashura Otsutsuki. Hashirama was blessed with plenty of chakra and a unique bloodline ability or Kekkei Genkai.

He possessed the Wood Release that allowed him to beat the strongest of shinobi and consolidated his status as "God of Shinobi." Hashirama also had the sage mode and it made him just even more powerful. Hashirama's enormous chakra reserves allowed him to beat Madara Uchiha every single time they fought.

5 Worst: Jiraiya

Jiraiya is among the most loved characters in the entire anime world. He was one of the Legendary Sannin that were trained by Hiruzen Sarutobi. Jiraiya was Naruto's mentor and he taught him a lot of things.

Jiraiya was also known as the "Toad Sage." He learned the Sage Mode from Mount Myoboku when was a kid. However, Jiraiya was never able to perfect his sage mode. It took a lot of time for him to enter the sage mode due to it being incomplete. He had to rely on the help of the two elder toads.

RELATED: Naruto: The 10 Strongest Jinchūriki In The Series, Ranked

4 Best: Kabuto Yakushi

Kabuto Yakushi used to be a loyal follower of Orochimaru. He is an excellent medical ninja and we have seen him using his medical expertise time and time again.

After Orochimaru's "death" Kabuto injected his own body with the cells of his master. Kabuto managed to learn the sage mode from Ryuchi Cave. He was able to overwhelm Itachi and Sasuke in their fight. In the end, Itachi had to resort to using Izanami to save his brother and undo the animation jutsu.

3 Worst: Jugo

Jugo was a test subject of Orochimaru. Jugo belonged to an unnamed clan that could use the natural energy and modify parts of their body. The clan's ability is also known as Sage Transformation.

Orochimaru developed an interest in Jugo because of his unique ability. Jugo has huge reserves of chakra, but there is a drawback to his ability. When he uses too much of his chakra, he is prone to going into a rage. So, he is not able to use his Sage Transformation to the fullest extent. Hence, he is not really a good user of the sage mode.

2 Best: Asura Otsutsuki

Asura Otsutsuki is the son of Hagoromo Otsutsuki. He is the ancestor of the Senju and Uzumaki clans. He is among the strongest characters in the series. Asura was named the successor of Hagoromo Otsutsuki ahead of his brother, Indra Otsutsuki. This caused a rift between the brothers and led to the hatred that lasted for generations.

Asura Otsutsuki fought against Indra to beat him once and for all. He was granted the power Six Paths Senjutsu by his father. This ability allowed Asura to beat his older brother who was labeled a prodigy.

1 Worst: Madara Uchiha

This is arguably the most difficult inclusion on this list. Madara Uchiha was the leader of the Uchiha Clan during the Warring States Period. Madara was Hashirama's rival and his friend. Madara was always one step behind Hashirama in terms of power, but all that changed when Madara was reanimated with the Rinnegan.

Madara went on to become the jinchuriki of the Ten-Tails. Madara wreaked havoc on the battlefield with his powers, but he wasn't allowed to be at his full power for long. Soon after casting the Infinite Tsukuyomi, Madara was "killed" by Black Zetsu in order to revive Kaguya Otsutsuki.

NEXT: 10 Naruto Characters Who Can Beat Hashirama

Next Attack On Titan: Ranking All Of The Biggest Twists Of The Manga (So Far)

More in Lists