'Ms. Marvel' wins best series at Angouleme

The winners of the major awards (called "fauves") at the Angouleme International Comics Festival were announced Saturday evening in a ceremony that has turned out to be quite controversial: The emcee came on and announced the nine winners, only to be followed by two actresses who revealed it was all a joke, after which the real awards were presented.

We'll have more on that shortly, but first of all, here's the list of the actual winners:

Fauve d'Or (best album): Ici, by Richard McGuire (published in English as Here)

Fauve d'Angouleme, Prix du Public (chosen by customers at the Cultura bookstore chain): Cher Pays de Notre Enfance, by Benoît Collombat and Étienne Davodeau

Prix Spécial du Jury (special jury prize): Carnet de Santé Foireuse, by Polza

Prix de la Série (best series): Ms. Marvel, by Adrian Alphona and G. Willow Wilson

Prix Révélation (given to an emerging creator): Une Étoile Tranquille: Portrait Sentimental de Primo Levi, by Pietro Scarnera

Prix Jeunesse (young readers): Le Grand Méchant Renard, by Benjamin Renner

Prix du Patrimoine (reprints of works of historical significance): Vater und Sohn - Pére et Fils, by Erich Ohser and E.O. Plauen

Prix Polar SNCF (mystery and suspense stories): Tungsténe, by Marcello Quintanilha

Prix de la BD alternative: Laurence 666

Nova Collides with Annihilus in Marvel's Annihilation Event One-Shot

More in Comics