Moore, Otomo and Hermann are Angouleme Grand Prix finalists

Alan Moore, Katsuhiro Otomo and Hermann are the finalists for the Angoulême International Comics Festival's Grand Prix Award, according to multiple sources.

The prize is presented annually to a living comics creator, with the winner traditionally serving as president of the jury for the following year's festival. Calvin and Hobbes creator Bill Watterson received the honor in 2014, becoming only the fourth non-European to do so, but the famously reclusive cartoonist declined to attend. He did, however, create a poster for this year's festival.

Moore, the writer of such comic books as Swamp Thing, Watchmen, V for Vendetta, From Hell and The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, was among the 2014 Grand Prix finalists, but announced he would decline France's top comics honor. It seems unlikely his stance will have changed between then and now.

Otomo, who was also nominated last year, is best known as the creator of the pioneering cyberpunk manga Akira and director of its 1988 anime film adaptation. He was decorated a Chevalier of the French Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 2005, and promoted to Officer last year. Otomo, whose film work includes Steamboy and Mushishi, also wrote Hipira: The Little Vampire.

Hermann is the pen name of Belgian artist Hermann Huppen, best known for his work on Bernard Prince, Les Tours de Bois-Maury and Jeremiah.

The winner will be announced Jan. 31 at the 42nd Angoulême festival.

EXCLUSIVE: Manor Black #2 Preview Sees Ari Fleeing The Stranger

More in Comics