pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Matt Fraction’s full timeline breakdown of ‘Hawkeye’ #8-13

by  in Comic News Comment
Matt Fraction’s full timeline breakdown of ‘Hawkeye’ #8-13

Reading Hawkeye month to month instead of in trade is an awesome experience, but it can sometimes be rather confusing for readers, especially in the most recent arc in which Matt Fraction played a bit with the timing of each issue. It was only during the recent Hawkeye #13 that the full timeline of events came to light, and now Fraction has posted his outline for the full arc on his blog.

Fraction’s photo shows 28 index cards with timestamps, issue numbers and brief description of events from Thursday at 8 p.m. to Wednesday evening in an almost-hourly breakdown of plot. The descriptions make perfect sense once you figure out Fraction’s code (“C” means Clint, “K” means Kate most of the time, “B” means Barney, “L” is Lucky the Pizza Dog.), and it’s certainly a cool insight into the most recent arc and Fraction’s process.

What’s perhaps most impressive is how carefully Fraction planned out the arc as relates to which moments appear in which issues. For example, many of the plot breakdowns show moments meant to be showcased in two different issues — like the Clown killing Grills or the “breakup” between Clint and Kate — which definitely speaks to Fraction’s long-term plans not just for the arc but for the book. It leads me to wonder how many of these index cards he actually has lying around just for the purposes of plotting Hawkeye.

Regardless, it’s good stuff, lending some true insight to the arc and a decent motivation to go back and reread the whole thing.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos