Marvel Preview Erroneously Reveals Powers of X's Quiet Council

Powers of X Mister Sinister Feature

Warning: This article contains massive spoilers for upcoming X-Men storylines and Powers of X #5 by Jonathan Hickman, R.B. Silva, Marte Gracia, VC's Clayton Cowles and Tom Muller, on sale now.

In this week's Powers of X #5, Marvel's ongoing X-Men relaunch took a closer look at how the government of the mutant nation Krakoa was established. While the issue set up as many questions as it answered, some advance previews of the issue may have revealed a little more than originally intended.

The issue established that the governing body of Krakoa, and mutantkind as a whole, was the Quiet Council, a group of 12 mutants who would "handle external conflicts and establish internal laws of the island itself."

Continue scrolling to keep reading Click the button below to start this article in quick view.

RELATED: Powers of X Teases the X-Men's Mysterious New Leaders

1093 Powers of X Quiet Council

Charles Xavier, Magneto, Emma Frost and Sebastian Shaw were all confirmed to be members of the Quiet Council over the course of the issue and on a heavily redacted data page that defined the role of the Quiet Council. On that data page, the identities of the other eight mutants on the council are concealed by black bars.

As reported by The Beat, all of the redacted names under the black bars can be accessed in an advance digital copy of the issue sent to several outlets. The report also notes the outline of the letters in one of the names is visible through the black bar that covers it.

That appears to be unintentional, as the names remain mostly concealed in the official consumer releases of the title.

In the printed version of Powers of X #5, the black bars totally cover the identities of the Quiet Council. However, the outline of the letters in one name on the list can be faintly made out in the digital version of Powers of X #5 available from digital retailers like comiology, as of this writing.

RELATED: Emma Frost Recruits an X-Man as the New Red Queen In Marauders Teaser

While the characters identified by The Beat have been prominently featured together in teasers for House of X and Powers of X and in preview art for the upcoming titles, it's unclear if or when they will be officially named as members of the Quiet Council. However, a teaser for the upcoming series Marauders seemingly confirms some of the details of the reported list.

Both House of X and Powers of X have just one issue remaining before their planned conclusions, and Marvel's upcoming Dawn of X relaunch will introduce a new slate of X-Men titles. While there are still a lot of questions about the X-Men's immediate future in those titles and beyond, the mystery of the Quiet Council's remaining members may have been answered prematurely.

KEEP READING: Dawn of X: What's In Marvel's Next Wave of X-Men Series?

Rise of Skywalker Vs. Game of Thrones: A Showdown in the Throne Room

More in CBR Exclusives