Mark Waid Writing The History of the Marvel Universe

Marvel logo

Writer Mark Waid and artists Javier Rodriguez and Alvaro Lopez are going back to the beginning for The History of the Marvel Universe.

Announced at C2E2 in Chicago, the six-issue series will recap what's happened in the Marvel Comics universe so far. At this time, it seems like the comic will make clear Marvel's sometimes nebulous continuity, though details about the actual plot are unclear. Steve McNiven will provide the main covers for the series. There has not been any word on variant covers at this time.

RELATED: The Immortal Hulk Has Finally, Officially Become Marvel's Nastiest Villain

Art for the series has shown up online, courtesy of Twitter user Doctor_Spidey.

Waid is known for his work on a ton of different comics for a variety of publishers. For Marvel Comics, he's previously written such books as Captain AmericaDaredevil and Fantastic Four. He and his work have won multiple Eisner Awards. Rodriguez is known for his work on Batgirl: Year OneDaredevil and The Amazing Spider-Man. Lopez has worked on ExilesDoctor Strange and the Sorcerers Supreme and Royals.

This announcement is in addition to Donny Cates and Ryan Stegman's Absolute Carnage event, which will start in August.

No release date has been announced for The History of the Marvel Universe.

KEEP READING: Marvel Comics Announces Absolute Carnage Event

(via Newsarama)

Punisher Co-Creator Gerry Conway Blasts Cops Who Wear the Vigilante's Logo

More in Comics