Marvel Studios Reveals Official MCU Timeline

Marvel Studios 10th anniversary

When a shared cinematic universe releases 20 films (and counting), there are bound to be continuity glitches. Thankfully, however, Marvel Studios has released a timeline of the Marvel Cinematic Universe that clarifies some of these issues -- and perhaps creates a few more.

The timeline debuted in the Marvel Studios: The First 10 Years source book, published earlier this year. Iron Man debuted in 2008, and most fans assumed it took place within the same year, serving as the launching point for the MCU. Yet, according to the official timeline, the events of the Jon Favreau film actually took place in 2010:

1943-1945: Captain America: The First Avenger2010: Iron Man2011: Iron Man 2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor2012: The Avengers, Iron Man 32013: Thor: The Dark World2014: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 22015: Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man2016: Captain America: Civil War, Spider-Man: Homecoming2016 through to 2017: Doctor Strange2017: Black Panther, Thor: Ragnarok, Avengers: Infinity War

While most of the early films have a pretty set timeline, there are some significant questions regarding the placement of later films like Doctor Strange and Spider-Man: HomecomingDoctor Strange takes place over an undisclosed amount of time, with awards and documents in the film revealing a post-2016 transformation into the Sorcerer Supreme. That's represented in the official timeline as taking place over the course of that year. Spider-Man: Homecoming featured an "8 Years Later" time jump after the Battle of New York, which was later revealed to be incorrect by Infinity War co-director Joe Russo. This has also been changed in the official timeline, which moves the film to 2016 alongside Captain America: Civil War, and only six years after The Avengers.

RELATED: Marvel Studios Has Plans to Publish Official MCU Timeline

The placement of Black Panther in the new timeline still seems off, as its events have to take place shortly after the events of Civil War, considering the death of King T'Chaka is still fresh at the beginning of the Ryan Coogler film. And the placement of Infinity War in 2017 contradicts dialogue from the film that that sets it two years after Civil War.

RELATED: How Ant-Man and the Wasp’s Unique Look Was Inspired by MCU’s Earliest Days

Ant-Man and The Wasp isn't included in the official timeline, although it can safely be set in 2017 as well, following the completion of Scott Lang's house arrest and the post-credit scene that ties in with Infinity War. So while the official MCU timeline corrects a few errors from the past 10 years, it also creates new areas for fans to consider as they await the release of Captain Marvel, the as-yet-untitled Avengers 4 and Spider-Man: Far From Home.

(via ScreenRant)

Thor Meets the Guardians of the Galaxy
James Gunn Confirms Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3/Thor 4 Timeline

More in Movies