pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Why Marvel’s Avengers 4 Doesn’t Have a Title Yet

by  in Movie News Comment
Why Marvel’s Avengers 4 Doesn’t Have a Title Yet

Marvel Studios originally announced “Avengers: Infinity War” in 2014 as “Part I” and “Part II,” only to re-title the films so as not to lead fans to believe the two sequels tell a single story. “It’s a whole movie and a whole story,” clarified Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige, “and then a whole movie and a whole story.”

RELATED: “Avengers: Infinity War” Is “Exactly What the Fans Want,” Chris Pratt Says

Nearly a year has passed since then, during with we’ve heard a lot about 2018’s “Avengers: Infinity War,” while its 2019 sequel is still being referred to simply as “Untitled Avengers film.” It turns out there may be a very good reason for that: It’s title would spoil the events of “Infinity War.”

Asked whether that’s indeed the case, Feige told CinemaBlend, “Yeah, for sure.”

That will undoubtedly lead to an avalanche of rumors and speculation, with the most obvious being that the title references the death of a major character or the title of a well-known comic book storyline. Marvel similarly kept a lid on the spoiler-ish titles of the second and third “Captain America” films, which were ultimately released as “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” and “Captain America: Civil War.”

RELATED: “Guardians of the Galaxy” Cast Teases Rivalry With Avengers in “Infinity War”

With production of “Infinity War” already under way, Marvel confirmed last week that the film and its 2019 follow-up are shooting back to back but not simultaneously, as initially planned. “We’re doing them one right after another,” Feige explained. “It became too complicated to cross-board them like that, and we found ourselves — again, something would always pay the price. We wanted to be able to focus and shoot one movie and then focus and shoot another movie.”

Directed by Joe and Anthony Russo, “Avengers: Infinity War” boasts a sprawling ensemble cast that includes Robert Downey Jr., Josh Brolin, Mark Ruffalo, Tom Hiddleston, Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Jeremy Renner, Chris Pratt, Elizabeth Olsen, Sebastian Stan, Benedict Cumberbatch, Paul Bettany, Samuel L. Jackson, Cobie Smulders, Benedict Wong, Zoe Saldana, Karen Gillan, Vin Diesel, Dave Bautista, Pom Klementieff, Scarlett Johansson, Tom Holland and Anthony Mackie. The film arrives in theaters May 4, 2018, with the untitled sequel opening May 3, 2019.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos