pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

‘Lumberjanes’ wins 2016 GLAAD Media Award

by  in Comic News Comment
‘Lumberjanes’ wins 2016 GLAAD Media Award

The acclaimed BOOM! Studios fantasy-adventure Lumberjanes has won the 2016 GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding Comic. Presented Saturday during a ceremony held in Los Angeles, the awards honor outstanding portrayals of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.

The Eisner Award-winning series, by Noelle Stevenson, Shannon Watters, Kat Leyh, Carolyn Nowak and Brooke Allen, et al, follows five teenage girls who encounter strange creatures and solve supernatural mysteries while at summer camp. Two of the characters, Molly and Mal, have a crush on each other, and Jo is trans.

This marked the second GLAAD Media Award nomination for the series, and the first win.

Lumberjanes edged out fellow nominees Angela: Queen of Hel, by Marguerite Bennett, Kim Jacinto, Israel Silva and Stephanie Hans (Marvel); Harley Quinn, by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Chad Hardin, John Timms and Jed Dougherty (DC Comics); Midnighter, by Steve Orlando, Aco, Hugh Petrus, Alec Morgan and Stephen Mooney (DC Comics); and The Wicked + The Divine, by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Kate Brown and Tula Lotay (Image Comics).

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos