LOOK: Marvel Unveils First "Death of X" Variant Covers Featuring Jean Grey, Colossus

In anticipation of the new "Death of X" storyline, Marvel Comics will release 20 variant covers featuring the deaths of iconic mutants. The variants -- which spotlight characters like Jean Grey, Colossus and Nightcrawler -- will arrive in July across 20 separate titles.

The variants will appear with the following titles:

• All-New X-Men #11

• All-New, All-Different Avengers #12

• Amazing Spider-Man #15

• Black Panther #4

• Captain America: Steve Rogers #3

• Daredevil #9

• Deadpool #15

• Doctor Strange #10

• Extraordinary X-Men #12

• Guardians of the Galaxy #10

• Invincible Iron Man #11

• Mighty Thor #9

• New Avengers #13

• Old Man Logan #8

• Power Man and Iron Fist #6

• Spider-Man #6

• The Astonishing Ant-Man #10

• Uncanny Avengers #11

• Uncanny Inhumans #12

• Uncanny X-Men #10

No other information is available about "Death of X" at this time; it's not known who is working on the title, or whether or not it is a new series, event, storyline or something else entirely. Marvel currently has two events in the works: the currently unfolding X-Men event "Apocalypse Wars" and the upcoming "Civil War II," which will also feature an X-Men tie-in limited series.

Currently, the X-Men are in dire straits thanks to the Inhuman Terrigen Mist that has enveloped the planet. The Mist has caused the spread of an M-Pox, which has rendered the mutant race sterile and stopped the births of new mutants while also proving deadly to existing mutants. Whether this teaser has anything to do with this plot line remains unclear.

Stay tuned to CBR for more information about "Death of X."

Marvel's Incoming Trailer Teases a Midtown Murder and a Galactic Threat

More in Comics