Long Beach Comic Con announces Dwayne McDuffie Award

Long Beach Comic Con organizers have announced the Dwayne McDuffie Award, named in honor of the influential comics and animation writer who passed away in 2011. Details will be revealed Sept. 27 at the convention.

“Dwayne’s influence on comics is incredible, and we look forward to helping preserve his legacy through this award,” convention co-founder Martha Donato said in a statement.

Donato will be joined for the official announcement by fellow co-founder Phil Lawrence, and Neo Edmund, Joan Hilty, Joseph Illidge, Heidi MacDonald, Glen Murakami, Eugene Son, William J. Watkins, Len Wein, Charlotte Fullerton McDuffie and Matt Wayne.

Co-founder of the pioneering Milestone Media, McDuffie's comics work ranged from Marvel's Damage Control and Fantastic Four to Milestone's Static and Icon to DC's Justice League of America and Batman: Legends of the Dark Knight.

His animation credits include Static Shock, Justice League, Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths, All-Star Superman and Justice League: Doom.

Held Sept. 27-28 at the Long Beach (California) Convention Center, Long Beach Comic Con will feature such guests as Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa, Laura Allred, Michael Allred, Marc Andreyko, Kyle Baker, Corinna Bechko, Mark Bernardin, Tim Bradstreet, Chris Burnham, Joe Casey, Cecil Castellucci, Bernard Chang, Amanda Conner, Gerry Conway, Eric M. Esquivel, Joshua Hale Fialkov, Gabriel Hardman, Tom Hodges, Dave Johnson, JT Krul, Mike Kunkel, Amy Mebberson, Mike Mignola, Dustin Nguyen, Jimmy Palmiotti, Barbara Randall Kesel, Jamie S. Rich, Andrew Robinson, Steven T. Seagle, Marc Silverstri, Cat Staggs, Babs Tarr, Len Wein and Marv Wolfman.

Tom King Responds to Superman/Lois Lane Comic Controversy

More in Comics