Kevin Smith Reveals Gift He Received For Directing Supergirl & The Flash

supergirl the cw kevin smith header

Kevin Smith might be among the biggest comic book fans of the film industry, which makes him a natural fit as director for the CW's slew of superhero shows. Smith has reached a particular milestone, having now directed three episodes of Supergirl and three episodes of The Flash. To commemorate that milestone, some of the shows' crew made Smith a personalized picture frame, which he shared on Twitter.

Smith directed three episodes of Season 3 of Supergirl, "Damage," "Distant Sun" and "Supergirl Lives." He also directed three episodes of The Flash's first season, "Null and Annoyed," "Killer Frost" and "The Runaway Dinosaur."

RELATED: Kevin Smith Invites Stan Lee to Live With Him

The message on the picture's frame reads, "Blazing through episodes with Kevin Smith is always a hoot" and is signed "From The Flash Constuction/Paint Team." Clearly, the team is great at crafting a lovely gift, though, they may regret having missed an opportunity to spell-check before engraving the message. The highlighted words on the frame would also indicate a possible inside joke between the crew and their famously cannabis-friendly director, especially regarding his sentiments on how weed may have saved his life after his recent heart attack.

The gift is the second Smith has gotten from the CW after his near-fatal heart attack in February. The CW sent Smith a hockey jersey with the House of El symbol on it after his brush with death, wishing him best of health after his "big win against the deadliest of foes, the wrathful Widow-Maker." Smith has lost 32 pounds in the three months since his health scare.

RELATED: Supergirl, The Flash Cast & Crew Wish Kevin Smith a ‘Speedy Recovery’

Airing Mondays at 8 p.m. ET/PT on The CW, Supergirl stars Melissa Benoist as the Girl of Steel, David Harewood as Martian Manhunter, Mehcad Brooks as Jimmy Olsen, Chyler Leigh as Alex Danvers and Jeremy Jordan as Winn Schott, with appearances by Calista Flockhart as Cat Grant and Tyler Hoechlin as Superman.

Airing Tuesdays at 8 p.m. ET/PT on The CW, The Flash stars Grant Gustin as Barry Allen, Carlos Valdes as Cisco Ramon, Danielle Panabaker as Caitlin Snow, Candice Patton as Iris West, Jesse L. Martin as Joe West, and Tom Cavanagh as Harry Wells, with guest appearances from Keiynan Lonsdale as Wally West and Hartley Sawyer as the Elongated Man.

Crisis on Infinite Earths Casts the Arrowverse's Spectre

More in TV