DC Unveils Post-Metal Justice League Plans, Four New Team Rosters

DC Comics has unveiled its Justice League publishing plans follow the currently unfolding Dark Nights: Metal event, and get ready for four different teams starring characters both expected and unexpected.

RELATED: Scott Snyder to Write Flagship Justice League Series Post-Metal

As revealed first on IGN, the conclusion of Metal will lead to a four-issue weekly miniseries running through May titled Justice League: No Justice, co-written by Scott Snyder, James Tynion IV and Joshua Williamson and illustrated by Francis Manapul. No Justice will launch a new slate of Justice League comics -- details on those are currently unclear beyond Snyder writing the flagship, and Tynion and Williamson also both writing books. No artists have been announced for the post-No Justice series.

"We thought we knew the entire map of the DC cosmos," Snyder said in DC's press release. "We thought we had explored all there was to explore. But now we know that all this time the Multiverse was nothing but a fishbowl, and now we’ve been dumped into the ocean, unleashing terrifying new threats, and wondrous new possibilities. Metal opened up channels of storytelling that Francis, James, Joshua and I are excited to explore in a big way. When we’re finished, fans will never look at the Justice League in the same way again."

Justice League: No Justice will see Brainiac advising the Justice League to form four separate teams based on skill to counter a "a cosmic-level threat on the way to destroy Earth." These teams, which combine iconic heroes and plenty of well-known villains, are Team Mystery: Martian Manhunter, Sinestro, Superman, Starfire and Starro; Team Entropy: Lobo, Lex Luthor, Beast Boy, Batman and Deathstroke; Team Wonder: Raven, Doctor Fate, Zatanna, Wonder Woman and Etrigan the Demon; and Team Wisdom: Cyborg, Harley Quinn, Atom, The Flash and Robin (specified as Damian Wayne).

"The Justice League realizes that they need to expand their reach to become something bigger than they have ever been before," Manapul said in IGN's announcement. "Anyone who has asked for Harley Quinn, Martian Manhunter, Starfire, Zatanna, The Atom, Raven, or Doctor Fate to be in their personal Justice League will stand up and cheer."

DC's two current Justice League series will both end as a result of No Justice. The Justice League run by Christopher Priest and Pete Woods will end with April's issue #43; Justice League of America by Steve Orlando and various artists will also end in April, with issue #29. IGN's story said to expect news in the near future on Dark Nights: Metal artist Greg Capullo's next DC project.

Dark Nights: Metal concludes with issue #6, scheduled for March 14. Justice League: No Justice #1 is scheduled for release on May 9.

Absolute Carnage Miles Morales
One of Spider-Man's Oldest Enemies Just Became Carnage

More in Comics