Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom Passes $1 Billion Worldwide

jurassic world fallen kingdom

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom has become the third film this year, and the 35th film overall, to cross the $1 billion mark at the worldwide box office.

The Universal Pictures sequel has grossed $304.8 million domestically and $700.7 million overseas. In China, the film earned $245.2 million, becoming the No. 5 Western film title of all time.

RELATED: Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom's Ending, Explained

Despite Fallen Kingdom's achievement, it won't beat the record set by the first Jurassic World, which earned $1.671 billion. However, it's the only film out of the three to cross $1 billion this year that's not part of the Disney/Marvel machine; the other two are Black Panther and Avengers: Infinity War. Turns out that dinosaurs may be the only things that can beat superheroes.

RELATED: Is Universal's Jurassic Franchise Headed Back to the Stone Age?

Universal's five Jurassic movies have grossed a combined $4.65 billion worldwide to date, becoming among the most successful franchises of all time. A sixth film, directed by Colin Trevorrow, is scheduled to arrive in 2021.

Directed by J.A. Bayona from a script by Colin Trevorrow and Derek Connolly, Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom stars Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard and B.D. Wong, joined by Toby Jones, Rafe Spall, Justice Smith, Daniella Pineda, Ted Levine, Geraldine Chaplin, James Cromwell, and Jeff Goldblum.

(via The Hollywood Reporter)

Is Ghostbusters: Afterlife Already Overcorrecting For the 2016 Reboot?

More in Movies