Judges Named for Eisner Awards, entry submission information

Official Press Release

Entries are now being accepted for the 14th annual Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, to be given to the finest publications and creators of 2001.

Publishers can submit any comic, graphic novel, or comics-related periodical, book, or item that was shipped to retailers between January 1, 2001 and December 31, 2001. The deadline for submissions is March 15.

The submitted items will be considered by a blue-ribbon panel of judges, who will select the final items to appear on the Eisner Awards ballot. This year's judges, who have been chosen by Awards Administrator Jackie Estrada, are:

  • Matt Lehman, owner and operator of Comicopia in Boston, Massachusetts. He has owned the store for 13 years and has been a comics retailer since 1986. He is an active member of the DC comics RRP program and serves on the board of directors of PACER. Additionally, he has been a guest film reviewer on "Here and Now," a news show on WBUR, the Boston NPR affiliate.
  • Lee Marrs, comics writer, penciler, inker, letterer, computer colorist, cover painter, and editor. One of the "founding mommies" of the Wimmen's Comix Collective, she has been active in the alternative press with such titles as Pudge, Girl Blimp, but she's also done work for Marvel, DC, Vertigo, Dark Horse, Heavy Metal, and many other publishers. An Emmy Award-winning art director, Marrs is the president of Lee Marrs Artwork *an animation company with clients such as Apple Computer, Time Warner Inc., Nickelodeon, and MTV), and she teaches interactive design and storytelling at UC Berkeley Extension and SF State's Multimedia Center.
  • Greg McElhatton, the online reviewer for iComics.com. After serving on its steering committee for three years, he is the new executive director of the Small Press Expo, as well as on the steering committee for the Ignatz Awards. He was one of the original freelancers for Wizard magazine (1991-1996) and was a co-editor of the anthology EXPO 2000.
  • Calvin Reid, news editor and reporter for Publishers Weekly. He has reviewed and written about comics and comics publishing for PW and other publications since 1987. He currently edits PW's comics department.
  • Tim Stroup, co-owner and submissions director of Cold Cut Distribution. A lifelong comics reader, Tim became actively involved in fandom in the early 1990s by contributing to fanzines and APAs and later to the Marvel Comic Official Index books organized and written by Murray Ward. In early 1994, he co-founded (with Bob Klein) The Grand Comic-book Database, an international, Internet effort to compile creator credits for every comic book ever published. In late 1994, Tim joined with Mark Thompson and Tim's former wife, Cathy, to form Cold Cut Comics Distribution.

"These individuals were chosen for their knowledge of comics, their wide-ranging interests, and their reputation for integrity," says Estrada. "I look forward to working with them in the judging process and really appreciate them volunteering their time to this important task."

Those wanting to submit entries for the judges to consider should send one copy each of the comics or books to be considered and include a cover letter indicating what is being submitted and in what categories. The tentative categories include best single issue, best short story, best serialized story, best continuing comic book series (at least two issues must have been published in 2001), best limited comic book series (at least half of the series must have been published in 2001), best new series, best title aimed at a younger audience, best anthology, best graphic album-new material, best graphic album-reprint, best archival collection, best humor publication, best U.S. edition of foreign material, best writer, best writer/artist, best penciler/inker (individual or team), best painter (interior art), best lettering, best coloring, best editor, best comics-related publication (book or periodical), and best comics-related item.

Publishers may submit a maximum of five items for any one category, and the same item or person can be submitted for more than one category. Each imprint, line, or subsidiary of a publisher may submit its own set of entries. There are no entry fees.

Creators can submit materials for consideration if: (a) their publisher is no longer in business; (b) their publisher is unlikely to have participated in the nomination process; or (c) they have severed connections with the publisher or have similar reasons for believing that their publisher is unlikely to consider nominating them or their work.

All submissions should be sent to Jackie Estrada, Eisner Awards Administrator, 4657 Cajon Way, San Diego, CA 92115, before the deadline of March 15. The nominees will be announced in April, and ballots will go out in May to more than 5,000 creators, editors, publishers, distributors, and retailers. The results will be announced by celebrity presenters at the gala awards ceremony on the evening of August 2 at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

The Eisner Awards are administered under the auspices of the San Diego Comic Convention, Inc., a nonprofit educational corporation. Anyone with questions about submitting entries for the awards can e-mail Ms. Estrada at jackiee@mindspring.com or call her at (619) 286-1591. Additional information on the Eisners can be found at www.comic-con.org.

Captain America Namor feature
Namor: Marvel's First Mutant Has Been Turned Into What He Hates Most

More in Comics