Joe Shuster Awards Nominees Announced

"Batgirl" writer Brenden Fletcher, "Saga" artist Fiona Staples and "SuperMutant Magic Academy" creator Jillian Tamaki are among the nominees for the 2016 Joe Shuster Awards, announced earlier this week.

Named in honor of Superman co-creator (and Toronto native) Joe Shuster, the annual awards honor Canadian comics creators whose work is being published in Canada and in other countries. This is a big year for the awards, as 2016 marks the 75th anniversary of the publication of "Better Comics" #1, the first comic published specifically for Canadian readers.

This year's nominees range from writers and artists of mainstream mass-market comics to self-published indie creators. The winners will be presented this fall at a venue to be announced.

Here's the full list of nominees:

Writer / Scénariste• Brendan Fletcher - "Batgirl," "Black Canary," "Gotham Academy" (DC Comics)• Normand Grégoir - "La petite patrie" (La Pastèque)• Kathryn Immonen – "Russian Olive to Red King" (Adhouse Books), "Operation S.I.N.," "Agent Carter: SHIELD Anniversary Special" (Marvel Comics)• Jeff Lemire – "Justice League United" (DC Comics) "Descender," "Plutona" (Image), "All-New Hawkeye," "Extraordinary X-Men" (Marvel Comics), "Book of Death: Fall of Bloodshot," "Bloodshot Reborn" (Valiant)• Ryan North – "Adventure Time" (Boom!), "Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" (Marvel Comics)• Chip Zdarsky – "Jughead" (Archie) "Kaptara" (Image Comics), "Howard the Duck" (Marvel Comics)

Artist / Dessinateur• Andy Belanger – "Southern Cross" (Image Comics)• Stuart Immonen – "Russian Olive to Red King" (Adhouse Books), "All-New Captain America," "Star Wars" (Marvel Comics)• Leonard Kirk – "Captain Canuck" (ChapterHouse Comics) "Fantastic Four," "Squadron Supreme" (Marvel Comics)• Julie Rocheleau – "La petite patrie" (La Pastèque)• Steve Skroce – We Stand on Guard (Image Comics)• Fiona Staples – "Archie" (Archie Comics), "Saga" (Image Comics)• Cameron Stewart – "Fight Club 2" (Dark Horse Comics)

Cartoonist / Auteur(Sponsored by The Story Attic)• Samuel Cantin – "Whitehorse: Première partie" (Éditions Pow Pow)• Michael DeForge – "Dressing" (Koyama Press)• Francis Manapul – "Detective Comics" (DC Comics)• Michel Rabagliati – "Paul dans le Nord" (La Pastèque)• Ethan Rilly – "Pope Hats 4" (Adhouse)• Seth – "Palookaville 22" (Drawn & Quarterly)• Jillian Tamaki – "SuperMutant Magic Academy" (Drawn & Quarterly)• Zviane – "Ping-Pong" (Éditions Pow Pow)

Gene Day Award (Self-Publishers) / Prix Gene Day (Auto-éditeurs)• Nemo Balkanski – "The Deliverer"• Stephen Gilbert – "Colville"• Kathleen Gros – "Last Night at Wyrmwood High"• A. Shay Hahn – "Homeless G-Men" 1-3, "Battle Rally" 1-2 and "Crypto-Zombic" 1• Various: Clouscape Comics Collective – "Epic Canadiana" Vol. 2• Various: Toronto Comics Anthology – "Toronto Comics," Vol 2

Harry Kremer Award (Retailers) / Prix Harry Kremer (Détaillants)• Another Dimension (Calgary, AB)• Librairie Drawn & Quarterly (Montreal, QC)• Gotham Central (Mississauga, ON)• The Comic Hunter (Moncton, NB)• Time Masters (St. John’s, NF)

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids) / Le Prix Dragon (Bandes Dessinées pour Enfants)(Sponsored by The Dragon comic shop)• "March Grand Prix" (Stone Arch Press) – Kean Soo• "Awkward" (Yen Press) – Svetlana Chmakova• "Sex is a Funny Word" (Seven Stories Press) – Cory Silverberg and Fiona Smyth• "Child Soldier: When Boys and Girls are Used in War" (Kids Can Press) – Michel Chikwanine, Jessica Dee Humphreys, Claudia Davila• "Windmill Dragons" (Toon Books) – David Nytra• "l’Agent Jean" Tome 08 (Presse Aventure) – Alex A.• "Salome et les hommes en noir" (Bayard Canada)- Valerie Amiraux, Francis Desharnais• "Le prisonnier sans frontieres" (Archambault) – Jacques Goldstyn

The T.M. Maple Award / Prix T.M. Maple(Sponsored by All New Comics, Inc.)The T.M. Maple Award will go to someone (living or deceased) selected from the Canadian comics community for achievements made outside of the creative and retail categories who have had a positive impact on the community. Selected for 2016: John Bell (1952-)

Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame / Temple de la renommée Créateur Canadien de Bandes Dessinées• Tedd Steele (1922-1994)• Ley aka Shirley Fortune (?-?)• Fred Kelly (1921-2005)• Mark Shainblum (1963-)• Darwyn Cooke (1962-2016)

X-Force Reveals How an X-Man Is Turned Into a Living Lab Rat

More in Comics