pinterest-p mail bubble share2 google-plus facebook twitter rss reddit linkedin2 stumbleupon


The Premium The Premium The Premium

Joe Shuster Awards announces 2015 winners

by  in Comic News Comment
Joe Shuster Awards announces 2015 winners

The winners of the 2015 Joe Shuster Awards, which honor Canadian comics creators, were announced Sunday in London Ontario, at the Forest City Comic Con. The awards are named after Superman co-creator Joe Shuster.

The winners are:

Outstanding Artist: Adrian Alphona, for Ms. Marvel
Outstanding Cartoonist: Bryan Lee O’Malley, for Seconds
Outstanding Cover Artist: Darwyn Cooke
Outstanding Webcomics Creator: Nicole Chartrand for Fey Winds
Outstanding Writer: Mariko Tamaki for This One Summer
Gene Day Award for best self-published work: James Edward Clark for Evil #3
The Dragon Award for best comic for children: Volumes 6 and 7 of Agent Jean!, by Alex A.
The Harry Kremer Award (Retailers): Amazing Stories in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

The T.M. Maple Award, honoring someone who has made a positive impact on the Canadian comics community outside the creative and retailing areas, went to Michael Hirsh and Patrick Loubert, co-authors of the 1971 book The Great Canadian Comic Books, and Toronto retailer and fan Robert Charpentier, who died last year.

Two creators were inducted into the Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame: Artist Doris Slater (1918-1964), whose drew characters such as Pat the Air Cadet and Martin Blake the Animal King for Grand Slam Comics and Three Aces Comics, and later on illustrated Penny’s Diary, based on the CBC radio show; and James Waley (born 1951), publisher of Orb Magazine and creator of the superhero Northern Light.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos