Isotope accepting submissions for best mini-comic

James Sime, owner of Isotope Comics in San Francisco, has put out the call for submissions for the 2009 Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics. Submissions are due Oct. 1 and will be presented at Isotope's annual APE Aftermath bash on Oct. 17, in conjunction with the Alternative Press Expo.

"It's our seventh annual award, and I've got a feeling we're going to be especially lucky and help discover an amazing new talent this year," Sime said. "In 2009 one mini-comic creator's career will be forever changed, so fire up your xerox machines and get ready to submit your minis."

Judges for this year's competition include Sime, Top Shelf co-publisher (and usually the guest bartender at the Aftermath party) Brett Warnock, comics journalist/critic Tom Spurgeon, librarian and former Eisner judge Eva Volan, and comics writer/retailer/librarian Kirsten Baldock.

Entry to this competition is five copies of your mini-comic sent to Isotope's address -- 326 Fell St., San Francisco, CA 94102 -- before the Oct. 1 deadline. The winner will be contacted in advance and must be present at the Isotope at 9 P.M. on Saturday, Oct. 17 for the award presentation ceremony.

"I consider each year's winner of this award to be the Isotope's Miss America for the year and always love helping to get their work under the noses of the entire industry," Sime said. "Oh... and speaking of which, don't forget to place your pre-orders for two previous winners of this award, who both have new original graphic novels coming out this September, Danica Novgorodoff's Refresh, Refresh from First Second and Joshua Cotter's Driven By Lemons from AdHouse Books."

Other previous winners of the award include Rob Osborne, Daniel Merlin Goodbrey, Jonas Madden-Conner and Max Riffner.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer #4 Plays to the Franchise's Strengths

More in Comics