Hogarth and Montana named to Eisner Hall of Fame

The Eisner Awards judges have selected legendary artists Burne Hogarth and Bob Montana for automatic induction this summer into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame.

Hogarth, who passed away in 1996, was an illustrator best known for his work on the Tarzan newspaper strip, an art educator and the author of influential anatomy and drawing books. Montana, who died in 1975, was the co-creator of Archie who drew the Riverdale gang for three decades.

The judges also chose 13 nominees from which voters may select four to be inducted into the Hall of Fame for 2010:

• Carl Burgos -- the late Golden Age-era artist and co-creator of the original Human Torch• Steve Gerber -- the late writer and co-creator of Howard the Duck and Omega the Unknown• Dick Giordano -- the artist and longtime DC Comics editor• Michael Kaluta -- the artist best known for his work on Starstruck and The Shadow• Jack Kamen -- the late illustrator and prolific EC Comics artist• Frans Masereel -- the late painter, woodcut artist and creator of Mon Livre d'Heures• George McManus -- the late cartoonist and creator of Bringing Up Father• Sheldon Moldoff -- one of Bob Kane's primary "ghost artists," and co-creator of Hawkgirl and Poison Ivy• Marty Nodell -- the late artist and co-creator of the Golden Age Green Lantern• Bob Oksner -- the late artist known for his work on humor, adventure and superhero comics• Bob Powell -- the late artist known for his work on Sheena, Queen of the Jungle, and Blackhawk• Yoshihiro Tatsumi -- the creator of Abandon the Old in Tokyo, A Drifting Life and The Push Man and other stories•Mort Weisinger -- the late and longtime DC Comics editor and co-creator of Aquaman, Green Arrow and Johnny Quick

Online voting is open now through March 31. The inductees will be announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony held July 23 during Comic-Con.

Read the full press release after the break:

Hogarth, Montana Named to Eisner Hall of FameOnline Voting Now Open for Other Nominees

SAN DIEGO – Comic-Con International (Comic-Con), the largest comic book and popular arts event in the United States, announced today that the Eisner Awards judges have selected two individuals to automatically be inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame this summer: Burne Hogarth, legendary artist on the Tarzan newspaper strip and influential art educator, and Bob Montana, the co-creator of Archie who drew the Riverdale gang for more than 30 years.

The judges have also chosen 13 nominees from which voters will select 4 to be inducted in the Hall of Fame for 2010: Carl Burgos, Steve Gerber, Dick Giordano, Michael Kaluta, Jack Kamen, Frans Masereel, Sheldon Moldoff, Marty Nodell, George McManus, Bob Oksner, Bob Powell, Yoshihiro Tatsumi, and Mort Weisinger. More information on the nominees can be found on the Eisner Awards website: www.comic-con.org/cci/cci_eisners_main.shtml

Online voting is now open. To vote, you must be a professional working in the comics industry, whether as a creator (writer, artist, cartoonist, colorist, letterer), a publisher or editor, or a retailer (comics store owner or manager). Eligible voters can visit www.eisnervote.com to register and then select up to four picks in the Hall of Fame category. The deadline for voting is March 31. Further eligibility information is provided on the Eisner Awards page.

The 2010 Eisner Awards judging panel consists of academic Craig Fisher (Appalachian State University), librarian Francisca Goldsmith (Berkeley, California), reviewer John Hogan (GraphicNovelReporter.com), comics writer James Hudnall (The Psycho, Harsh Realm), and retailer Wayne Winsett (Time Warp Comics, Boulder, Colorado).

The judges were assisted by students at Vermont’s Center for Cartoon Studies, who made suggestions for Hall of Fame nominees and provided background information on the people they suggested. Eisner Awards administrator Jackie Estrada notes that the contributions of the students was very helpful and is looking forward to working with CCS instructor Steve Bissette and his students again next year.

The online voting process is being conducted by Mel Thompson and Associates, the official tabulators of the Eisner Awards. The rest of the categories will be available for online voting in mid-April. In addition, paper ballots will still be mailed out and a pdf version will be available for downloading; the paper ballots will be tabulated along with the online votes for the other categories.

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are underwritten by Comic-Con, the nonprofit educational organization dedicated to creating awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular art forms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contributions of comics to art and culture.

The Eisner Awards will take place at a gala awards ceremony to be held on July 23 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel.

Warlord of Mars Attacks #3

More in Comics