HBO's Watchmen Treats the Graphic Novel as Canon, Series Creator Assures

Damon Lindelof -- creator of HBO's Watchmen -- has previously described the upcoming superhero series as a "remix" of the Watchmen world, rather than a sequel to or reboot of either Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' original graphic novel or Zack Snyder's 2009 film adaptation. Nevertheless, Lindelof assures fans the HBO drama treats Moore and Gibbons' work as series canon.

"Yes," Lindelof told Entertainment Weekly when asked if those who read the comic or watch the movie will have a firm grasp on his show's world. "Look, [the new series] certainly fits into the 'sequel', and definitely doesn't fit into the 'reboot' box. We treat the original 12 issues as canon. They all happened. We haven't done any revisionist history, but we can maneuver in between the cracks and crevices and find new stories there."

Continue scrolling to keep reading Click the button below to start this article in quick view.

RELATED: Watchmen: Lindelof Describes Series' Alt-History, Dr. Manhattan's Legacy

That being said, Lindelof went on to explain why, in spite of this, he does not consider HBO's Watchmen a proper sequel. "We wanted to make sure our first episode felt like the beginning of a new story, rather than the continuation of an old story," he explained. "That's what I think a sequel is - the continuation of an old story."

HBO's Watchmen takes place about three decades after the original graphic novel in an alternate version 2019, in which actor Robert Redford has been President of the United States since the early '90s. The series will follow Regina King's Angela Abar, a Tulsa police officer who becomes the vigilante known as Sister Night. Classic characters Ozymandias, Silk Spectre and Dr. Manhattan are confirmed to be returning, though their roles are largely unknown at this time.

RELATED: Watchmen: Sister Night Poster Declares, 'It's Time'

Developed by Damon Lindelof, HBO's Watchmen stars Jeremy Irons, Regina King, Don Johnson, Tim Blake Nelson, Louis Gossett Jr., Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Tom Mison, James Wolk, Adelaide Clemens, Andrew Howard, Frances Fisher, Jacob Ming-Trent, Sara Vickers, Dylan Schombing, Lily Rose Smith and Adelynn Spoon. The series will premiere Oct. 20.

Disney+ Beat 2019's Expected Signup Goal On Its First Day

More in TV