Harvey Awards Announce 2018's Hall of Fame Inductees

Artists Dave Gibbons and Roz Chast will be inducted into The Harvey Awards Hall of Fame at the 30th awards ceremony on October 5 at New York Comic Con 2018. Additionally, the International Spotlight Awards will be presented to Harold Sakuishi and the inaugural Comics Industry Pioneer honor, to Jackie Estrada.

Hall of Fame inductee Dave Gibbons is best known for his work with Alan Moore on their seminal DC graphic novel Watchmen. Fittingly, it was at the very first Harvey Awards ceremony in 1988 that Gibbons and Moore won a slew of awards for the now-iconic superhero tale. The book went on to inform the comic book medium for years after its release and is still held in high regard today. Gibbons has also provided the art for countless other iconic comics in his time, including Green Lantern, Give Me Liberty and Kingsman.

RELATED: Watchmen’s Dave Gibbons Is Sorry For ‘Misery’ Comic’s Influence Caused

Fellow Hall of Fame inductee Rosalind "Roz" Chast has also made a considerable impression in her own field. Chast began working as a cartoonist for The New Yorker in 1978 and, since then, has published over 800 cartoons for the magazine. Previously, Chast received the National Cartoonist Society's Reuben Award, the highest honor in the cartooning profession.

Artist Harold Sakuishi will receive the International Spotlight Awards for his contributions to the world of manga in Japan. Sakuishi has published several award-winning books over the years, but his perhaps best known for his indie-rock inspired titled BECK, the entirety of which is being published in English for the very first time by Kodansha Comics and comiXology Originals.

RELATED: Harvey Awards Move to New York Comic Con in 2018

Finally, Jackie Estrada will be receiving the first-ever Comics Industry Pioneer honor for her continued contributions to the comic book industry. Estrada has promoted comics and their creators at San Diego Comic-Con International since the convention's creation just under five decades ago. Additionally, Estrada has released books featuring photos comics creators, been involved in the now-defunct Friends of Lulu organization and is an administrator for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards.

The Harvey Awards 30th anniversary award ceremony will take place at New York Comic Con 2018 on Friday, October 5. The Harvey Awards Steering Committee is co-chaired by Nellie Kurtzman, John Lind and Chip Mosher.

Marvel Just Teased the Return of Its Strongest. Hulk. Ever.

More in Comics